electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Nord Mod G2 and High Sierra
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
rmm123



Joined: Aug 06, 2015
Posts: 6
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:41 pm    Post subject: Nord Mod G2 and High Sierra Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

What a blow - I just found that my G2 will not connect with High Sierra. has anyone else found this? Anyone have a suggestion?

Thanks
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sovietpop



Joined: Jun 28, 2009
Posts: 21
Location: Quebec
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah , me too i am having problem with High Sierra.
Works fine on my Imac using El Capistan but always getting random error on my laptop running High Sierra.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22431
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 216
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Having issues here too on plain Sierra Evil or Very Mad
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Burp



Joined: Dec 18, 2006
Posts: 36
Location: Utrecht - NL
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Reading above posts made me wonder if i should update or not to High Sierra (now on El Capitan).

So i decided to test it first with a clean install (on a separate partition) of High Sierra. After installing High Sierra i installed the Clavia G2 editor from the download from there site. And all worked fine on my MacBookPro mid2012.

So at least it should be possible. What are the issues and random errors you have?

_________________
if you don't know where you're going, you will allways arrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22431
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 216
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

In my case (iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2013) on the built-in USB) editing of patches is broken (could not move cables at some instance) and connection loss on patch editing. Or on starting the editor it will not see all connected engines, after a Mac reboot it usually will. I didn't yet try to go back to os 1.4 on the nords (it used to be all fine with 1.6.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Burp



Joined: Dec 18, 2006
Posts: 36
Location: Utrecht - NL
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thats worse not being able to edit patches Sad

Once in a while i do have a USB connection loss (on El Capitan), restarting the editor, unplug/plug the USB cable or restarting the G2 helps in most cases.

Probably there will be a moment that most of us need an old computer special for editing the G2 Sad

_________________
if you don't know where you're going, you will allways arrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Burp



Joined: Dec 18, 2006
Posts: 36
Location: Utrecht - NL
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've done the upgrade to OSX High Sierra and on my system (MacBookPro mid2012) the editor seems to work fine.
_________________
if you don't know where you're going, you will allways arrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1169
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 141

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Burp wrote:
I've done the upgrade to OSX High Sierra and on my system (MacBookPro mid2012) the editor seems to work fine.


what editor version are you using?

and the others that have problems? I am still on yosemite but new softwares will require an update.. for now it probably should that capitan.. pfff..apple and their stupid os names..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22431
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 216
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

editor 1.6 here
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Burp



Joined: Dec 18, 2006
Posts: 36
Location: Utrecht - NL
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

1.62 here
_________________
if you don't know where you're going, you will allways arrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Davedatt



Joined: Jan 12, 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Portland OR.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:19 pm    Post subject: Possible Fix for High Sierra Connection issue.
Subject description: USB to G2
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I had this problem of the G2 not being recognized by the 1.6 editor.
The G2 was directly connected to my late 2013 retina MacBook pro.

Used to work...

So I noticed that some people had issues and others did not with Sierra.
Not wanting to give up I tried something stupid. I inserted a USB hub between the MB and the G2. Instant and solid connections. I was just wondering was it a backwards compatibility between USB 1,2 & 3. Just having had another issue with a windows 10 laptop and the constant power setting, so USB issues had been on my plate of late. Of course the 2 had nothing to do with one another.

But inserting this cheap Monoprice USB 3 Gigabit ethernet adaptor/usb hub worked.
A Monoprice PD10933. It shows up as AX88179 Hub that I think might be fairly generic.

It did require me to install a driver but that was for the ethernet port. Without installing the driver it was not recognized. The hub was recognized w/o driver installation. I do not know definitively if this is part of the fix but it seems unlikely.

Now it does work... YMMV

A followup, my Lenovo U31 running Windumb 10 had the same issue as the Mac and then I installed said hub and it worked flawlessly after that.

Last edited by Davedatt on Sun Feb 18, 2018 1:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Burp



Joined: Dec 18, 2006
Posts: 36
Location: Utrecht - NL
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Interesting. Most of the time i have a cheap USB hub between MB & G2 as well (without a problem). Worth a try at least!
_________________
if you don't know where you're going, you will allways arrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use