electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time

poster

Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Assign Toggling Switch To MIDI CC
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TEMAS



Joined: Mar 20, 2007
Posts: 68
Location: London
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:24 am    Post subject: Assign Toggling Switch To MIDI CC Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi.

Does any know how to make a toggling switch respond to MIDI CC so that it can be automated? From my experiments I have found that all G2 toggling switches, constant level toggles and mixer mutes function as momentary switches when their buttons are assigned to MIDI CC numbers.

If anybody has a work around method to automate toggles I would be grateful to learn it.

Many thanks


Screen Shot 2018-06-25 at 13.15.49.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  184.22 KB
 Viewed:  22 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Screen Shot 2018-06-25 at 13.15.49.png



_________________
Trevor Masterson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22545
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 219
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hmm I can not check this right now .. but from memory I had another idea .. anyway .. you can make a toggle from a momentary with some extra modules.

A momentary would give a brief impulse on action .. when feeding this into a divide by two or a properly wired flip-flop you would get a toggle action on the output of that one.

Then use the divider output to control another switch to get the actual levels you want.

Okay .. checked it with internal midi .. and I dont see the behavior you describe. Made a simple patch with tow modules

A switchOnOff module and a MIDICC send module. Assigned CC3 to the button of the switch module and set the CC send module to send CC3.

Then set the transmit channel for the CC send module to Slot A (and have the patch in slot A as well).

Then on turning the value knob on the CC send module the switch will turn on when the knob is at 64 or higher.

This is like I expected it to behave ... but I can not currently test with external MIDI.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22545
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 219
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

But looking at the image you posted .. you already tried this ... but not sure from that what you try to accomplish :-)
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TEMAS



Joined: Mar 20, 2007
Posts: 68
Location: London
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Jan.

Here's the patch to demonstrate.

It is possible to achieve the same thing using a flip-flop, but the problem is that when the modular 'refreshes itself' after adding modules etc, the flip-flop doesn't remember the status of flip-flop and will always revert to its default position.

I would be using these to send messages from one slot to another and want them to be able to 'store' the settings.


Toggle Switch Test.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Toggle Switch Test.pch2
 Filesize:  1.06 KB
 Downloaded:  29 Time(s)


_________________
Trevor Masterson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TEMAS



Joined: Mar 20, 2007
Posts: 68
Location: London
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok. I think the best solution is to have the toggle as the send and the momentary as the receive. Don't know why I didn't think of this already.

Cheers


Toggle Switch 2.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Toggle Switch 2.pch2
 Filesize:  881 Bytes
 Downloaded:  32 Time(s)


_________________
Trevor Masterson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22545
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 219
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah, ok .. now I understand :-)

Glad it got solved.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Electromagnetic Wave



Joined: Apr 28, 2013
Posts: 250
Location: Kebek
G2 patch files: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Good you got it fixed! I just noticed something funny with the momentary switches. When I copy/paste a module with the momentary switches with ON activated > The cloned module keep this value (switch ON) whatever if I add new modules or wires. As soon I press the switch on the cloned module > the switch react as suposed after. I modded your patch to show it.

Another workaround I use with momentary switches when I play live with G2 > I assign a momentary switch to G2 front panel. I press the switch, hold it then I change the active slot. Now the value on the switch is 'freezed' and I can release the momentary switch. After I can go back on this slot and turn it off. I saw other patches using this trick for keyboard and pitch stick but never for the momentary switch.


toggle_switch_2_191bbbb.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  toggle_switch_2_191bbbb.pch2
 Filesize:  946 Bytes
 Downloaded:  46 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use