electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time

poster

Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Noisy Outputs?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
SayersWeb



Joined: Apr 07, 2003
Posts: 62
Location: Sugar Land, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:17 pm    Post subject: Noisy Outputs? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The G2 Engine arrived... looks great, but immediatly upon connecting it was apparent that it is quite noisy. I connected outputs 1 & 2 and there is a background hiss noise that is loud enough to be a problem. Is this a common issue with the G2?

I switched the cables to outputs 3 & 4 and they are fine, the noise is not there. This may be workable, but every single patch needs changing to use the new outputs.

Any info, ideas, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

_________________
Sayer - Home Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22545
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 219
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is the noise still there with USB disconnected?

Edit: or MIDI ...

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SayersWeb



Joined: Apr 07, 2003
Posts: 62
Location: Sugar Land, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
Is the noise still there with USB disconnected?

Edit: or MIDI ...


That is a great question, I will try it out.

The USB cable and audio cables were previously connected to a Waldorf Streichfett (same midi and audio interface, just replaced the Streichfett with the G2 using same cables) and there was no problem. The Streichfett has moved to a new place in the studio.

_________________
Sayer - Home Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
varice



Joined: Dec 29, 2004
Posts: 918
Location: Northeastern shore of Toledo Bend
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 53

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 5:55 am    Post subject: Re: Noisy Outputs? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

SayersWeb wrote:
The G2 Engine arrived... looks great, but immediatly upon connecting it was apparent that it is quite noisy. I connected outputs 1 & 2 and there is a background hiss noise that is loud enough to be a problem. Is this a common issue with the G2?

I switched the cables to outputs 3 & 4 and they are fine, the noise is not there. This may be workable, but every single patch needs changing to use the new outputs.

Any info, ideas, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Noise on Outputs 1 & 2, but not 3 &4… that is odd…

How about the Headphones output? It is a stereo mix of Outputs 1 & 2. If the noise is not there, then you could use that instead of the 1 & 2 output jacks. Caution: the Headphones output level is much louder than the Output jack levels, and the G2 Engine has no Master Level control, so be sure to reduce the patch levels before listening with headphones.

_________________
varice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SayersWeb



Joined: Apr 07, 2003
Posts: 62
Location: Sugar Land, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Outputs switched back to 1 & 2 and the noise is not there anymore. Have no idea why, but it sounds fine now. So happy about that.

Next up is to figure out why some patches sync to DAW master clock while others won't, they go quiet. I am having fun with the G2!

_________________
Sayer - Home Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use