electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  mosc Live music with Twyndyllyngs - Bill Fox and Howard Moscovitz
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Cubase
Remote Control Of Cubase SX2
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
doodler



Joined: Jun 29, 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:17 am    Post subject: Remote Control Of Cubase SX2
Subject description: How to program a Clavia G2 to act as Mixer/Transport remote controller
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi.

Being new to the forum, I hope I am going about this the correct way.

2 basic questions:

1. Can I seriously hope to be able to control the Transport/Mixer Controls of Cubase SX2 with a custom devised Clavia G2 patch? I am still pretty green about programming my G2, and very much so about about CC, and all that stuff. Has anybody tried this kind of Cubase control, and did it work out ok?

2. Which dedicated hardware device do forums users recommend for the same applications? The motorised fader route sounds preferable, but all advice happily accepted.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20536
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome doodler,

you're doing not bad, except for the double posting ... in this special case it sort of seems to make sense to me though Very Happy

I don't know too much about cubase, but when it's controllable through MIDI CC's the G2 is able to control it.

Just drop in a CC send module, set it to the right MIDI channel and the right CC number and then apply te right signal level to the blue input, leave the yellow input unconnected fttb. What the values must be is cubase specific and maybe you can find part of it in the manual or the online help or something.

The yellow input of the CC send module can be used to send out a value when the patch is loaded, for instance. You could connect it to a constant module set to 64 or to an appropriate output of the status module.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
doodler



Joined: Jun 29, 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you for that info. It has helped me greatly to get the encoders on my G2 to set the fader levels in Cubase' mixer. However I cannot find a way to make the corresponding buttons beneath the encoders to mute the tracks in Cubase. When I use the learn function in Cubase most switches and knobs come up as being "above" channel 16, as in channel 19!!

What are the chances of using the variation buttons, say, to operate as transport controls for Cubase?

Thanks for your ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2485
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

variation buttons are fixed CC msgs (ie-not programmable), and they are sent on the system midi channel. However, once you press the variation button, the G2 will change modes. However, you could use the Variation Active from the Status module, along with some careful CC programming, to send a specific messege when a variation is pressed.

Also, you can use a sequencer module, and assign MIDI to the trigger/gate as well as the value, hence getting both knob & button under midi control?

http://www.electro-music.com/forum/topic-7050-0.html&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

And some info on the mackie protocol, which most sequencers can use, and getting the G2 to do it (I've yet to create a patch, but am getting very close to needing one, so I might start this soon):
http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-9809.html

There's more infoout there, trying to find that damn link to a site that broke it all out once...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Cubase
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use