electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Where is the thread about making G2 outputs DC enabled???
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:42 am    Post subject: Where is the thread about making G2 outputs DC enabled??? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I cant find it Sad
maybe i am blind.. anybody has the link?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20681
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 156
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sven Shocked I posted a FAQ reply for it today Laughing

See : http://electro-music.com/forum/post-103175.html

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

seems that monophon analogs get fashionable again..

just got a roland compusynth that is actually a pretty nice unit...just the question to get it a midi/cv interface or try the G2 output trick...

I wonder what would happen when i do extra outputs that have a diode inserted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Compusynth?

The one known as the ProMars in certain markets?

Or the CMU 810?
Or???

Sorry I am asking, but some of the Roland product names are a bit messed up across certain markets and regions.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

no..compusynth is a desktop version of the 101 with an extra independent VCA and a bit more refined sound for some reason...maybe better op amps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Right, sounds like the 810. It`s a kinda MC202/SH1 thingie for the desktop.
Do you have the greyish offwhite or the beige-ish version?

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i would call it beigish.. its a metal housing ...

never have seen them advertized but i think they came with that first roland serial to CV interface
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That stuff on the front doesn´t really say compusynth? It says Compu Music? Right?
Shocked

The CMU series started off as some sort of edu/hobbyist/semiserious thingie. Some of the products were pretty good, but as far as I remember it really stopped dead in the tracks at some stage.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If it is the 810 then this is really an Amdek/ Roland DG product of sorts.

I think we have discussed osme of the Amdek stuff here before. THe 800R I think was the one which was supposed to be used with the early Apple puters ( pre mac ). RS 232? Right?

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ian-s



Joined: Apr 01, 2004
Posts: 2578
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Audio files: 42
G2 patch files: 611

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey, that´s one of them!!!!
The ones sold up here were mostly branded Compu Music and was initially meant for schools and educators.
Amazingy, my second ProMars had "Compusynth" printed on the back in a kind of Tron style font.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It defently sounds good... different to a 101/202 or earlier versions...
Ith has a good byte... hard to tell if its better than a 101 but i like the version... need to modify it.. its to much space in the housimng to live without external filter modulation and fm...the extra VCA on board also could get a feed to the internal sources... i am not shure how far i get this...its pretty rare...maybe i spare his front...but maybe patchpoints on a sub D connector..than you patch it with dummyplugs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If it actually works ok and is in mint condition why not simply sell it to some collector and then buy some seriously good stuff instead. Modding rare and unique stuff like the 810 is a sacriledge. Shocked


There isn´t much left of the CMU series these days. A huge lot of this stuff ended up in the garbage.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

do you know a collector? i dont really seee it as a sacriledge but i prefer to keep good designed front pannels intact... but this thing defenetly needs filter modulation by the oscilator or the noise source.. maybe som mini jacks on the back that allow to control the filter and replace the noise source or such ...The filter sounds to good to just let it run by an env
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use