electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
yusynth Sawanimator
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 3 of 3 [71 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
Argitoth



Joined: Jun 24, 2008
Posts: 152
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello Yves.

I have a friend who is having a problem (maybe?) with the saw animator I built for him. This is his message:

"Last night I plugged it up and it mostly seems to work fine. I do get a popping sound out of the 2nd channel when nothing is plugged in to it. With nothing going to the "In" of channel 1 and the 1 out going to the amp I don't get anything, but doing the same with channel 2 gives the popping. Once something is plugged into channel 2 the sound goes away and it sounds fine. Got any ideas on what it could be?"

Thank you,
-Elan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It's a perfectly normal behaviour, the saw animator needs to be fed with something (i.e a sawtooth) otherwise the output delivers the DC of the internal modulator. There is no point at listening at the output of this module if nothing is plugged in at the input Wink

Cheers

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Argitoth



Joined: Jun 24, 2008
Posts: 152
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you Yves! I thought that was the case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ojd



Joined: Feb 22, 2008
Posts: 65
Location: Ua
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sorry to interrupt conversation, but can anyone post a samples of saw animator itself (normal operation mode) fed with something else than saw wave, any samples really? It seems like it does magic to single vco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ojd wrote:
Sorry to interrupt conversation, but can anyone post a samples of saw animator itself (normal operation mode) fed with something else than saw wave, any samples really? It seems like it does magic to single vco.


Feeding it with something else then a sawtooth is meaningless because all the effect is based on a saw. For example if you feed it with a triangle what you get is the equivalent of a mix between a triangle and a PWM pulse. Feeding it with a sqaure returns a square. Feeding it with some audio signal gives a distorted audio signal but if that's what you want you can get a better result with a disto box...

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ojd



Joined: Feb 22, 2008
Posts: 65
Location: Ua
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The reason i'm asking is because i've found this one
http://www.cyndustries.com/modules_sawtooth.cfm
I'm sure you are aware of this module, seems like it has pulse wave animation too (like many vco's doing pwms at different speeds), so i thought if your module could do that too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ojd wrote:
The reason i'm asking is because i've found this one
http://www.cyndustries.com/modules_sawtooth.cfm
I'm sure you are aware of this module, seems like it has pulse wave animation too (like many vco's doing pwms at different speeds), so i thought if your module could do that too?

But this type of feature is already available on PWM VCOs, feed the PWM with a random votage and you'll get the same effects.

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
thermionicjunky



Joined: Dec 07, 2006
Posts: 72
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ojd wrote:
The reason i'm asking is because i've found this one
http://www.cyndustries.com/modules_sawtooth.cfm
I'm sure you are aware of this module, seems like it has pulse wave animation too (like many vco's doing pwms at different speeds), so i thought if your module could do that too?


I'm guessing that the Cyndustries module processes the output of the saw animator to produce a squared version. It uses the same input saw. You can do similar things with external waveshapers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is there an interconnection wiring diagram available for this add on board?

I'm not too great at reading schematics.

_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

LektroiD wrote:
Is there an interconnection wiring diagram available for this add on board?

I'm not too great at reading schematics.


No, but I will try to draw one...

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

yusynth wrote:
LektroiD wrote:
Is there an interconnection wiring diagram available for this add on board?

I'm not too great at reading schematics.


No, but I will try to draw one...


Much appreciated. Looking forward to getting this module working Smile

_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Assuming Yves is busy since there's been no further action in this thread for the past month, I wondered if anyone else has managed to get this working?

I have both boards assembled, but just awaiting an interwiring diagram. Does anyone else who has successfully interwired them have a few spare moments to put a basic wiring diagram together for me (and whoever else is stuck on this)?

It doesn't have to be anything flash, a simple hand drawn sketch would do the job.

Thanks in advance Wink

_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iopop3



Joined: May 28, 2010
Posts: 95
Location: Malmö, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

My pcb is still in the backlog, but this is how I would wire it up. Not tested so it might be some errors!

For the first part, the waveshaper, exchange the red cable going from LFO to Mod in the original wire diagram with,
Code:

                     ________________
                     |              |
LFO ---> Triangle_in*| add on board |*Sine out --> Mod in
                     |______________|


and for the output,

Code:

                                    ________________
                                    |              |
Dry Saw input       -->      Saw In*| add on board |*Output --> New Output
Original Saw Output --> Shifted Saw*|              |
                                    |______________|


"Dry saw input" is the same signal as you insert into the SAW pin, copper coloured.
"Original Saw Output" should the the purple output pin.
"New Output" is your output jack on the panel.

Do the same for both animators.

Yves mentions a switch on the output, that have not been added in this example. Havn't had the chance to try it out, so not sure if you need it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes iopop3, your diagram is correct, nice ascii rendering by the way !
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Can't really understand the ascii examples as there is only the add on board and not the main board showing, plus the labels you used don't match up with what's on the silk screen (I guess it's ok if you already know how it should be).

Although from what I can work out it would be like this..


SawAdd.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  90.51 KB
 Viewed:  101 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

SawAdd.jpg



_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No LektroiD, your diagram is not correct. I sketched one very quickly that shows the wiring for one channel only in order not to overload the sketch.
Here it is :


SAW-MOD-WIRING.gif
 Description:
 Filesize:  121.79 KB
 Viewed:  127 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

SAW-MOD-WIRING.gif



_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

yusynth wrote:
No LektroiD, your diagram is not correct. I sketched one very quickly that shows the wiring for one channel only in order not to overload the sketch.
Here it is :


I wired up exactly as you suggested, but it doesn't work. I have attached an mp3 example of what I'm getting. It was working better without this add-on board, at least I had some kind of saw happening. The results are the same for both sides of the circuit (saw anim 1 and saw anim 2).

Basically I get clicks as the modulation cycles. you can hear the saw input as I switch it on and off. I also increase the rate up and down, once without the saw and second time, with.


Untitled.mp3
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Untitled.mp3
 Filesize:  554.29 KB
 Downloaded:  267 Time(s)


_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Post a photo of the add on board track side and one photo of the components side such that I can check there is no mistake.

Just to be sure were you powering the addon board ? I did not show the power wire on the wiring diagram because it was obvious but one never knows...

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I piggy-backed the power from the main board.


IMG_4375.jpg
 Description:
Top
 Filesize:  2.76 MB
 Viewed:  95 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

IMG_4375.jpg



IMG_4386.jpg
 Description:
Bottom
 Filesize:  2.04 MB
 Viewed:  102 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

IMG_4386.jpg



_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Please let me know if those photos are ok, or if anything is amiss.

I left the saw in 1 tip connected to the switch terminal of saw in 2, would that cause any problems? It's the only wiring that's not mentioned on the add-on board.

Incidentally, has anyone managed to get their add on boards working successfully, or am I the only one who can't get it working?

_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The wiring diagram is logically completed by mirror symetry.
I know at least three other people beside myself who built it without a problem.
I cannot see any obvious error on your PCB however you may check with a continuity tester that there is no shortcut between tracks or a microbreak in a track.
Check that the ICs on the board are correctly powered (+15V on pin 8 an -15V on pin 4). Have you checked the AOP ICs ?

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 3 of 3 [71 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use