electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Samplers
Yamaha A3000 and SCSI adapters
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Gothboy



Joined: Feb 21, 2006
Posts: 365
Location: New England States
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:26 am    Post subject: Yamaha A3000 and SCSI adapters Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have a Yamaha A3000 sampler which uses a 50-pin connector. I'd like to use a 25-pin zip drive with it for backup so I would need to buy a 50-pin male to 25-pin female SCSI adapter for it. Anyone know if adapters work with samplers like this?
_________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.66 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
13 GB
10.7.5 Digi 002R
Novation SL49/Remote Zero
Automap 4
Nord Lead 2. Nord Micromodular,Korg Radias Roland System 1, Maudio Venom, Roland D-50, Arturia SparkLE, Alesis QS6


"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams"

Dymaxion Vehicle Music at www.dymaxionvehicle.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4531
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Typically, yes. Make sure you terminate the SCSI bus correctly.
_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gothboy



Joined: Feb 21, 2006
Posts: 365
Location: New England States
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK, well that's good to hear. I have some Roland VS recorders and I'd heard those didn't accept adapters so I wasn't sure if it was the same with a SCSI sampler. Cool
_________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.66 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
13 GB
10.7.5 Digi 002R
Novation SL49/Remote Zero
Automap 4
Nord Lead 2. Nord Micromodular,Korg Radias Roland System 1, Maudio Venom, Roland D-50, Arturia SparkLE, Alesis QS6


"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams"

Dymaxion Vehicle Music at www.dymaxionvehicle.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4531
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I think with the Rolands it's the usual Roland screwed up implementation of SCSI and lack of support for most SCSI devices except those they could charge an arm and a leg for. Some of the Rolands worked pretty well with 3rd party stuff, some didn't. The S-50 was a good one, but some of the others were not so helpful.

My old Ensoniq ASR-10 sampler had no problems with most of the SCSI-1 disks I had lying around at the time. And my Akai S-6000 has absolutely no problem talking to pretty much any SCSI device.

The Yamahas should work, but keep it simple. If it doesn't work, report back with that it's doing, a lot of problems usually boil down to improper termination. Newer SCSI kit will probably talk, slowly, on SCSI-1, but some kit, like tape drives and other single ended stuff, gets very cranky indeed.

_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gothboy



Joined: Feb 21, 2006
Posts: 365
Location: New England States
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for the info. I'll report back later when I get the adapter. Wink
_________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.66 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
13 GB
10.7.5 Digi 002R
Novation SL49/Remote Zero
Automap 4
Nord Lead 2. Nord Micromodular,Korg Radias Roland System 1, Maudio Venom, Roland D-50, Arturia SparkLE, Alesis QS6


"We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams"

Dymaxion Vehicle Music at www.dymaxionvehicle.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Samplers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use