electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  PHOBoS presents Sim Biosys (EM mix)
  PHOBoS Tales of the Golden Teacher
  PHOBoS presents Music by Hrastprogrammer (feat. Terence McKenna)
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
8-Step Sequencer with voltage controllable pattern (VCPS)
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 11 of 13 [313 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
emdot_ambient



Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 669
Location: Frederick, MD

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks! It's going to go just under the M-185 (or above it). The 2 of them together take up 5U in height and they were designed to look alike. Same knobs, similar graphical layout, etc.

The rest of that second 12U case will be dedicated to sequencer and CV related stuff: CGS Pulse Divider/Boolean Logic, 2 Fonik Master Clocks, 2 Foink VC Sequential Switches, YuSynth CV Standards...not sure what else. I've got 7U to play with.

Still a long ways to go on my first case, though, which has basically 4 synth voices in it along with noise/S&H, 4 LFOs and a Fonik VC Ring Mod.

Those 2 cases will be the core of my sequencer driven live rig.

_________________
Looking for a certain ratio since 1978
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Peasant



Joined: Nov 13, 2009
Posts: 90
Location: Sunny Alberta
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have successfully completed two VCPS modules as part of my SynthCase 3 project. Details can be found here:
http://www.electronicpeasant.com/projects/syncase3/syncase3.html

I have made two circuit modifications to the sequencer. First, a selector switch was added to allow adjustment of the sequence length from eight down to seven, six, five, four, or three steps. Second, a gate output signal was added for each step, using a simple op amp buffer circuit. The changes to the circuit are shown below, with the buffers marked in blue and the sequence length switch in red.

These are excellent little sequencers, thanks for another great project Fonik!

Take care,
Doug


vcpsmods.gif
 Description:
 Filesize:  15.95 KB
 Viewed:  131 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

vcpsmods.gif



case3t.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  251.82 KB
 Viewed:  152 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

case3t.jpg



_________________
The Electronic Peasant

www.electronicpeasant.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

great built! awesome.

The Peasant wrote:
I have made two circuit modifications to the sequencer. First, a selector switch was added to allow adjustment of the sequence length from eight down to seven, six, five, four, or three steps. Second, a gate output signal was added for each step, using a simple op amp buffer circuit. The changes to the circuit are shown below, with the buffers marked in blue and the sequence length switch in red.

i like the idea with the extra IC sockets for applying the step count modification! nice idea.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

wow,all that wiring Shocked

am still buzzy wiring my VCP sequencer..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i built my VCP,i have a few questions.

For what serves the processed output?
and how can i raise up the level oft the trigger and gate outputs as now it does not trigger my adsr's ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TekniK wrote:
i built my VCP,i have a few questions.

For what serves the processed output?

the processed CV out is just a goodie. i even did not bring it out to the front panel on both my units. however, it enables you to use the voltage processor as a module on it's own, when you don't need it for the sequencer.

Quote:
and how can i raise up the level oft the trigger and gate outputs as now it does not trigger my adsr's ?

actually it should not be necessary to amplify them. what voltage do you measure for the gates? would the clock you use fire the ADSR's?

the voltage of the gates depends on the voltage you set for the steps (see buffer opamps for the steps), and for the trigger voltage the original clock voltage is important too (i believe the clock you use would fire the ADSR's?).

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

[quote="fonik"]
TekniK wrote:

actually it should not be necessary to amplify them. what voltage do you measure for the gates? would the clock you use fire the ADSR's?

the voltage of the gates depends on the voltage you set for the steps (see buffer opamps for the steps), and for the trigger voltage the original clock voltage is important too (i believe the clock you use would fire the ADSR's?).


yes,i have to amplifie the trigger out to get my adsr's triggered

the clock i use triggers my adsr,but when i use the trig out from the sequencer not,so i would like to raise this output on the VCP pcb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TekniK wrote:
yes,i have to amplifie the trigger out to get my adsr's triggered

the clock i use triggers my adsr,but when i use the trig out from the sequencer not,so i would like to raise this output on the VCP pcb.

what is the highest CV you get out of your VCPS-8 build?
What voltage do you measure for the gate out?
which values did you use for R19, R21, R23, R25, R27, R29, R31 and R35? (RA/RB ratio, documentation BOM)

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i currently run both my units with 15V, using TL074 for the buffers, with a thgeoretical gain of 3.
i get max 10.4V at the CV out and 13.6V at the gate and the trigger out. the logic ICs pull it up. and i mean, 13.6V should trigger almost anything.

so there is something going wrong with your build.

did you any troubleshooting so far?

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Matt, seems trig and gate is fine no and it fires the adsr,i realy don't know what was wrong last weekend

i measured at the trigger i have 8,9V and the gate stays on 9V no mater what the pot settings are.

but trigger now fires adsr so thats ok.

I built the mine with the LM324

i have just 2 other problems now

first one:

between each step when it shifts from step to step the pitch (voltage) jumps a bit higher until the next step playing.this gives some enoying tremollo fx

any idea whats the problem doing this?


vcp-1.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  87.94 KB
 Viewed:  123 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

vcp-1.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TekniK wrote:

i have just 2 other problems now

first one:

between each step when it shifts from step to step the pitch (voltage) jumps a bit higher until the next step playing.this gives some enoying tremollo fx

any idea whats the problem doing this?

no idea, actually. do you have the opportunity to try a different switch IC?

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
TekniK wrote:

i have just 2 other problems now

first one:

between each step when it shifts from step to step the pitch (voltage) jumps a bit higher until the next step playing.this gives some enoying tremollo fx

any idea whats the problem doing this?

no idea, actually. do you have the opportunity to try a different switch IC?


don't know if i have at hand but i can order,what do you sugest?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

just guessing, actually. i got the gut feeling that something isn't working correct with your log ICs (switch AND gates), since your trigger/gate voltage is low.

what max voltage do you measure at the CV out?
are you running the module with 12V or 15V?

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
just guessing, actually. i got the gut feeling that something isn't working correct with your log ICs (switch AND gates), since your trigger/gate voltage is low.

what max voltage do you measure at the CV out?
are you running the module with 12V or 15V?


well hmm,the second problem is that the ADC function not seems to work,maybe it hae a relation,but i still not realy understand how ith works,if i switch all steps on ADC only step 8 is playing.

i use the module on 15V supply

i will measure the cv voltage when am home.

thanks for the support already untill now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

did yo already follow the calibration procedure for the ADC?
_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The max cv voltage i get out is 7,2V matt.

Where are the calibration procedures writen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TekniK wrote:
The max cv voltage i get out is 7,2V matt.

what is the ratio of the RA/RB resistors in the step buffer section? just as in the BOM? (see documentation page 3 of 14) - then you should see about 13V at the buffers outputs of the active steps (pins 1, 7, 8, 14 of IC8 & IC10)
did you any troubleshooting so far? (i.e. checking the supply voltages on the ICs)

Quote:
Where are the calibration procedures writen?

page 8 of 14 in the documentation.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
TekniK wrote:
The max cv voltage i get out is 7,2V matt.

what is the ratio of the RA/RB resistors in the step buffer section? just as in the BOM? (see documentation page 3 of 14) - then you should see about 13V at the buffers outputs of the active steps (pins 1, 7, 8, 14 of IC8 & IC10)
did you any troubleshooting so far? (i.e. checking the supply voltages on the ICs)

Quote:
Where are the calibration procedures writen?

page 8 of 14 in the documentation.


I did set all the resistors for 10v opperation.

No i did not yet attempt any debug or checking,could it be the LM324?
its a different circuit as the TL074.

o,thats an updated doc,i still used the first one!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 795
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi matthias
from the other thread it seems the non stepping issue is seq related so will write here from now on
to answer your earlier question
yes i do have some sequential switch pcb's but they are buried in my back log
but i also have another VCPS board already fully populated
so i could test that one on the weekend
i already spent some time last night going over the clock conditioning
part of the board a little last night just checking componant values
seems nothing is amiss there so far
I suspect the 2n3904's as being the next most likely culprit

_________________
In an infinite universe one might very well
ask where the hell am I
oh yeah thats right the land of OZ
as good an answer as any
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i checked my build from this PCB and it triggers fine from any pulse/square wave between 1.2V and 8V (8V is the highest gate signal i have available in my system). For the 8V gate the wave does not even have to come near the 0V, 1V to 8V is enough. For the 1.2V it has to go down to almost 0V though.
despite my earlier assertions it does not trigger well from a triangle. what did i think? Rolling Eyes

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 795
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

yes i never doubted the design at all just my build of it
I suspect one of the 2n3904's is out of spec or damaged in some way
though as it will step from correctly when clocked from the master clock
it is an exceedingly strange fault [ appears to work only in a very narrow range ]
As the normal patch i would use would be
M2C - slaved master clock - sequencer so that i gain variable pulse width
on the fly , odd timings and rests but still synced to my DAW
i guess it is no huge deal, as it does work in that configuration
but this problem has peaked my interest now so i will continue trying to find out why it occurs.

_________________
In an infinite universe one might very well
ask where the hell am I
oh yeah thats right the land of OZ
as good an answer as any
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

diablojoy wrote:
<snip>
but this problem has peaked my interest now so i will continue trying to find out why it occurs.

i like this attitude...

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 795
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
i like this attitude...

HAHA sorry matthias i may struggle with this one
just put my scope on D21
seeing a nice square wave of +11 volts going into the 4017 clock input
makes no difference inputing clock from either the master clock or the M2C i see the same thing every time a very nice +11 volt square wave.
and yet a clock taken from a master clock will step the seq , and if taken from the M2C it will not step the sequencer
I tried adjusting clock rates and pulse widths so that the signal that the 4017 is receiving on its clock input looks as close to identical
in every way on my scope and yet still I get the same result Confused
really weird or what. There must be some difference i am not seeing
will try another cd4017 what i have in there is a ST micro ? HCF4017BE
will have to try one from another manufacturer

_________________
In an infinite universe one might very well
ask where the hell am I
oh yeah thats right the land of OZ
as good an answer as any
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 795
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hmm had a bit more of a think about this
so have made up a simple little attenuator for the clock pulse
using a 100K pot and a couple of jacks very simple
The VCPS sequencer is now stepping nicely to M2C with a little attenuation applied
lowest value it will clock at looks like 2.2volts
so not quite sure what happened when testing with the zener in there
maybe it was fussing the waveshape to much
highest value appears to be 9.8volts reliably
I think this is either down to the particular 4017 chip used
or a little gain from the 2n3904's
unfortunately i only have STmicro branded chips on hand
I tried a few of them they all tested similar
matthias could you please confirm for me the pulse level at D21 -D22
junction and the make of 4017 you used on your build
the scope i have unfortunately does not offer enough resolution to see
enough differance in the level at D21 between when the seq will step and when it wont but i suspect the differance is only about 100mV
perhaps a change to R41/R44 values maybe the best solution ?

_________________
In an infinite universe one might very well
ask where the hell am I
oh yeah thats right the land of OZ
as good an answer as any
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 795
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ahh checked out some datasheets for hcf4017be and cd4017
they all list high input level as 11 volts
and low input level as 4 volts when VDD= 15v
so i guess this explains much as my clock after Q1/Q2 and D21
is right on the limit
R41 measures 9.98K
R44 measures 9.95k
and R42 measures as 46.9K
which just leaves Q1 and Q2
scope on collector of Q1 shows an inverted signal of 0.7 volts
Q2 collector shows reinverted signal of roughly 12 volts maybe a tad under
after D21 shows 11.1 volts
my scope is not all that accurate Embarassed really old BWD 835

_________________
In an infinite universe one might very well
ask where the hell am I
oh yeah thats right the land of OZ
as good an answer as any
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 11 of 13 [313 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use