electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  mosc Back on the air tonight - Twyndyllyngs
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Klee sequencer
Software Klee now available!
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 3 of 4 [81 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Dave for the purchase - post some audio and/or video of how you end up using it! Smile
_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DES



Joined: Feb 28, 2003
Posts: 682
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

klangumsetzer wrote:
hello dave,

maybe you can share your experience here. i too use thesys and wonder if and how the klee can compliment thesys.
best regards
eike
---


Initially the fact that Klee is able to do two sequences at once (well, possibly three if I understand the other mode...) as well as how it's programming is approached would affect how how i composed with it. Thesys is pretty straight ahead programming - although it is VERY powerful! I absolutely love it! In fact on my NYE stream tonight I'll have three different sequences ready to go using Thesys. I know I can run multiple instances of it. so the fact that Klee can run the two isn't a big issue...it's more it's approach I think. And for $40? Not a bad buy. I've got to get my download link from Dan yet for the Klee - so I don't know if I'll be using it tonight or not. If you don't catch the stream I'll have it recorded and post it here in the radio section.

BTW - Sugar-Bytes just realeased version 1.5 of Thesys today. Besides being 64 bit you can export sequences and it has a stand alone mode.

_________________
Dave
www.davesneed.com
www.myspace.com/desneed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DES



Joined: Feb 28, 2003
Posts: 682
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dnigrin wrote:
Thanks Dave for the purchase - post some audio and/or video of how you end up using it! Smile


Not a problem Dan!

Can you check the address though that you sent the download link to? Still haven't received it..... PM me if you have any questions - or use the email address you emailed me at before.

_________________
Dave
www.davesneed.com
www.myspace.com/desneed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
klangumsetzer



Joined: Jan 23, 2006
Posts: 394
Location: sweden
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi dave,

thanks for the info. the klee soft might be the first gear purchase of the year... Wink


best regards

eike
---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundklinik



Joined: Jul 27, 2009
Posts: 15
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:26 am    Post subject:
Subject description: request 4 busses and MIDI channels?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello Dan,

is it possible that you implement saving 'busses' and midi channels in presets? At least temporarily, while you're playing?
I was making (and storing) some patches in Klee, using Reaktor 5:
In R-5, I had 3 synths opened each with a different MIDI channel, (1-3) and using LoopBe1, (everything works perfect).
I saved some patterns in presets while switching midi channels in busses, basically a variation of the same pattern played with a different synth. Then I started switching between saved presets, expecting to hear what I saved, but no, it only played last midi/buss preset...

And please, the "last setup" memorized?

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:24 am    Post subject:
Subject description: request 4 busses and MIDI channels?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

soundklinik wrote:
is it possible that you implement saving 'busses' and midi channels in presets?

I originally had it this way when I was developing v2 of the app, but what I found was that when switching presets that included a change in the bus device (especially when that change involved VST instruments), it would make for a discontinuity in the outputted sound, as it takes some time for the app to load the new VST. To avoid that, i removed the ability to store the bus device. Perhaps what I could do in a future revision is to make it optional whether presets store the bus device or not, and then let the user decide one way or the other...

soundklinik wrote:
And please, the "last setup" memorized?

I will see if I can do this as well.

Thanks for the feedback!

_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundklinik



Joined: Jul 27, 2009
Posts: 15
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Dan said:
Quote:
...it would make for a discontinuity in the outputted sound, as it takes some time for the app to load the new VST.

New VST?...
I didn't know that VST has to be (re) 'loaded' again...
In Reaktor, the (VSTs) are there, (the 3 that I choose), all I want to do, is to change the midi channel path...so synth 'W' listens to channel 1, and before it listened to ch. 3, that was synth 'M'...
In Reaktor, you have the 'luxury' to load several instruments and give them each a different (or shared) midi channel, so only CPU is the limit....

Just to clarify, I don't want to change VST, or programs/sounds, (that would be nice, but I know i can't, as you say in manual), only midi channel... (the pattern with notes etc. is already saved in Klee's memory, and the question is which synth from the 3 available will play them notes)...

Also I found that using "Standalone Reaktor", or Battery3 (or any standalone) is much better then (the same) VST version.
For example, VST-Battery3 was flashing 20-40% CPU in Battery, standalone 1-2% Shocked
And with my midi keyboards that sends clock, I can 'splice in' a drum machine....heaven Wink ...but that's off subject, n'est pas?

But, the last memory on start up would be really great,.... I have to load : in Setup-1)midi device, BCR2000, 2) the text for it
Main page: 1) Midi controller PCR-2, 2)Midi clock-PCR-1,... 3) external midi/audio (don't use that much)...or am I being lazy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK, I understand. For you, since you would only be changing the MIDI channel in the output busses, you wouldn't experience any of the discontinuity I was talking about. That case is when users are loading up their VST's *within* the Klee software (unlike in your example, where you are loading them up in Reaktor).

I will try to make it an option in a future update, as to whether presets store the state of the Busses or not.

And you're not being lazy - I know what you mean, and I'll try to have it "remember" between sessions for the next version!

_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundklinik



Joined: Jul 27, 2009
Posts: 15
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Dan said:..since you would only be changing the MIDI channel in the output busses, you wouldn't experience any of the discontinuity I was talking about. That case is when users are loading up their VST's *within* the Klee software...

I don't know of any software that can load a VST with a patch on the next beat .... however it would be nice if Klee could temporarily store patch changes (same vst while in session)... that would be great Very Happy ...

thanx for your support and help, cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DES



Joined: Feb 28, 2003
Posts: 682
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:38 am    Post subject: Klee Version 2.1 out now! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Version 2.1 released... Very Happy

Downloaded it last night Dan. Looking forward to trying it out later tonight!

_________________
Dave
www.davesneed.com
www.myspace.com/desneed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey, you beat me to the punch!

Yes, version 2.1 now available - not a huge number of changes, mostly bug fixes, but one important change is how the Load button works. I got a lot of feedback about having the Loads only happen on quarter note clock ticks, rather than the very next clock tick. This should help keep things "in time" a bit better hopefully...

_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drumcodeuk



Joined: Dec 09, 2011
Posts: 10
Location: uk

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey,
Just wanted to say I bought the software Klee a few days ago and have found it to be a really useful and interesting sequencer.. I really like it and have got some good results from it already.
Saw the post on the Spectralis forum but have just been using it with a Yamaha FB-01 and a DSI Mopho so far.

Are you still working on it or do you consider it done now?
I don't think glide is implemented yet which would be good and as well as notes sending out midi CC's could lead to some pretty complex and unusual patterns I think. Anyway, great as it is.
Cheers,
Nick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

drumcodeuk wrote:
Are you still working on it or do you consider it done now?
I don't think glide is implemented yet which would be good and as well as notes sending out midi CC's could lead to some pretty complex and unusual patterns I think. Anyway, great as it is.
Cheers,
Nick.

Thanks for the nice words about the software - Scott Stites is the one who deserves the real praise though! Smile

I do still hope to implement some new features over time - both of your suggestions are already on the list! That said, I'm working on a few other projects at the moment, so not sure what the timeline will be for when I will get to these for the Klee....

_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusicMan11712



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 734
Location: Upstate New York USA
Audio files: 148

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

MusicMan11712 wrote:
Thanks for the prompt reply. One suggestion for the demo version, can you give people a week or so to try it (with the ability to save)? I was going to try using it for an experimental performance but the 20 minute limit and inability to save what I was working on really made it hard to (1) give it a fair test drive and (2) play my results for others to hear.
--Steve


I read recent comments about the software Klee and wondered if you reconsidered the 20 minute/no save limit. However, based on another post, it looks like you are quite happy with this restriction.

Needless to say, I am disappointed. Oh well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Afraid to say that I don't have plans to change the copy protection - sorry!
_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusicMan11712



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 734
Location: Upstate New York USA
Audio files: 148

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dnigrin wrote:
Afraid to say that I don't have plans to change the copy protection - sorry!

Oh. Maybe you misunderstood me. I wasn't commenting on copy protection; my comment was on the 20 minute limit for the trial version. Sorry if I wasn't clear about that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'll consider bumping the time up for the next update.
_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klangumsetzer



Joined: Jan 23, 2006
Posts: 394
Location: sweden
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

klangumsetzer wrote:
(...) thanks for the info. the klee soft might be the first gear purchase of the year... Wink
---

well the m185 and klee software apps were the first and only gear purchases in 2011... Very Happy

_________________
best regards

eike
---
make a joyful noise!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DES



Joined: Feb 28, 2003
Posts: 682
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I need to get back to my sw Klee. Last time I tried using it, it complained about how many vsts I had .... Time to thin the heard again Laughing
_________________
Dave
www.davesneed.com
www.myspace.com/desneed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DES



Joined: Feb 28, 2003
Posts: 682
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Version 2.1.2 now available Very Happy

Thanks Dan for keeping up with this.

_________________
Dave
www.davesneed.com
www.myspace.com/desneed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Very welcome!!
_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Loopy C



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Valyermo, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

To celebrate the recent purchase of M185 and CycliC, I spent the evening re-visiting 'Klee'.

Truly a surprising sequencer, really enjoying the possibilities in terms of avant garde textures.

http://loopyc.com/?p=2715

Here, three tracks of Klee were used, each track using 'external' MIDI CC to vary the 'pots' and 'Range' in realtime.

Thanks again Dan for providing these wonderfully esoteric options. it's what I live for Wink I can't wait to incorporate these ideas into more developed tracks (my above 'blog' is strictly for 'work in progress' experimentations as they happen).


"Shut up, he explained"
Chris R Gibson ( a.k.a. Loopy C )
www.micworks.com
http://www.loopyc.com
http://www.jesusworedickies.com/Inspector_19/JWD.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Cool stuff Chris, thanks for posting!!
_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dalekay



Joined: Nov 16, 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Lancaster CA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is it me or the web sites are down?

Dale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
dnigrin



Joined: Aug 20, 2009
Posts: 76
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You mean the Software Klee site? Working fine here...
_________________
Dan Nigrin - Defective Records
CycliC, M185 & Klee Sequencers / MC-202 & MC-4 Hack / Jack OS X / Major Malfunction
http://defectiverecords.com
http://jackosx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 3 of 4 [81 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Klee sequencer
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use