electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
Using Jack with Nicecast
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Inventor
Stream Operator


Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 5978
Location: San Antonio, Tx, USA
Audio files: 258

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:29 am    Post subject: Using Jack with Nicecast
Subject description: How do I do it?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, I've got Jack and Nicecast installed on a new Mac mini. I'm trying to get the wireless usb headphones, iTunes, ChucK, and Ventrilo to all talk on Nicecast. I am making zero progress. I can select any one sound source but only that sound source goes into Nicecast. The voiceover in effects of Nicecast doesn't work either. What am I doing wrong?

Les

_________________
"Let's make noise for peace." - Kijjaz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4500
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Have you also installed Soundflower and AudioHijack?

Nicecast's program source pulldown selector, as you can tell, has a few options. You can use the default system device, or a specific system device (not the default), or you can select a specific application.

It is the application menu that would be of interest here. Jack would presumably show up in here. You would need to configure jack to see all of your various sources in order for them to route to Jack's output and therefore to Nicecast's input.

For what it's worth, I actually use the output of my hardware interface as the mixing source, meaning that I don't have the mixer actually selected in Nicecast. For Ephemeras and the electronic review shows, I actually take the line out from the MOTU kit and feed it into the analog input on my Mac, which routes to the default output, which is what I select in Nicecast. It is the least complicated and most reliable configuration I have found.

That said, for the program streaming I have simply hooked iTunes which does playlists. I can then use my studio without disturbing the iTunes/Nicecast combo.

Anyway, make sure you get Soundflower installed at the very least, and AudioHijack next, as Nicecast works much better with these installed.

_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2263
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 178
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This may not apply in your set-up, but my soundcard's mixer app let's me choose all sorts of different inputs, including one called 'what you hear' which is everything that makes sound, not just individual inputs. perhaps you might have something similar?
_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Inventor
Stream Operator


Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 5978
Location: San Antonio, Tx, USA
Audio files: 258

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Paul provided me some links to articles that explained how to use Soundflower. I followed the instructions for setting up a mic into soundflower and then set soundflower as the audio device in Nicecast. Nothing. No audio. I cannot do my radio shows unless I can do this audio routing, this sucks. Can anyone help?

Les


LineInImage.jpg
 Description:
the Line In screen
 Filesize:  29.14 KB
 Viewed:  5722 Time(s)

LineInImage.jpg



NicecastImage.jpg
 Description:
the Nicecast Window
 Filesize:  28.42 KB
 Viewed:  5722 Time(s)

NicecastImage.jpg



_________________
"Let's make noise for peace." - Kijjaz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Inventor
Stream Operator


Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 5978
Location: San Antonio, Tx, USA
Audio files: 258

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Oh wow, just after posting that I got it working! I had to click on the pass-thru button in Line In. Hopefully I can also get Ventrilo working for live interviews.

Les

_________________
"Let's make noise for peace." - Kijjaz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2263
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 178
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

good luck with it all Les
_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Inventor
Stream Operator


Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 5978
Location: San Antonio, Tx, USA
Audio files: 258

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Jez and Paul, we've now tested everything and it all works great!

Les

_________________
"Let's make noise for peace." - Kijjaz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Inventor
Stream Operator


Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 5978
Location: San Antonio, Tx, USA
Audio files: 258

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It looks like I spoke too soon. Everything works great *except* ChucK. A simple sine wave oscillator program works properly, but other programs just make a horrible noise. I wonder what that's all about? I need my ChucK!

Les

_________________
"Let's make noise for peace." - Kijjaz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2263
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 178
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

horrible noises are often caused by either feedback or distortion (or both)
_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3618
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 254
G2 patch files: 95

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Had a similar problem wth a ChucK program something like half an hour before I was due to play dec 31. Gave me a big scare. Turned out the feedback only affected the audio I was feeding a couple of monitors on the side. If I plugged my headphones into the computer that I was using for streaming it sounded fine, so I left it at that.

Curiously, I had a similar experience like you, where some sounds sounded fine, but others where mangled (mine sounded like the were played through a tube).

Try to turn off that pass-through thing, or something similar, just to see if changes anything. Even if that's not the setup you want, it might help to isolate the problem, so you can find a setup that works.

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Inventor
Stream Operator


Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 5978
Location: San Antonio, Tx, USA
Audio files: 258

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
horrible noises are often caused by either feedback or distortion (or both)


Aha! Yes, the program that made the horrible noise has mic input and the test program that worked fine does not use the mic at all. Maybe that's it, I'll do some testing. Thanks Jez.

Les

_________________
"Let's make noise for peace." - Kijjaz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Inventor
Stream Operator


Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 5978
Location: San Antonio, Tx, USA
Audio files: 258

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well actually, Stefan, I wasn't running LineIn when the problem occurred (but you wouldn't have known that). I played around with it and discovered that if I quit Soundflowerbed, start the ChucK program, then start Soundflowerbed, then non-microphone programs work just fine. So that's good progress and will enable me to do everything except process my voice with ChucK. Quirky, eh?

Les

_________________
"Let's make noise for peace." - Kijjaz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

EdisonRex wrote:
Have you also installed Soundflower and AudioHijack?

Anyway, make sure you get Soundflower installed at the very least, and AudioHijack next, as Nicecast works much better with these installed.


I was looking for a built-in app to record from an audio stream, and am surprised I couldn't find one. I ended up installing Audacity just so i could record a webcast.

I should have come here and asked you guys first, but it was a last minute event.

I did buy AudioHijack which is pretty nice. I was surprised when it popped up a menu with vsts that I have installed. I can route audio through anything.

Installed Soundflower too, but haven't used it yet.
How is it different than Jack?

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
AmbiphonicDSP

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use