electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Nord G2 and 'real' modular synth
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
funtykigs



Joined: Feb 09, 2010
Posts: 17
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:54 pm    Post subject: Nord G2 and 'real' modular synth
Subject description: via Volta, Silent Way etc
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So I've started to control my small Eurorack system with my G2 by way of Volta.

It's going well so far, what I'm now interested in is sending signals back to the G2.. I've explored encoding a CV as audio by using it to control a VCA acting on white noise or a tone.. seem to get some usable results by then doing an envelope follow in the G2 to 'decode' it.

I figured there must be someone out there doing similar stuff?

Also what voltages are the sustain and control inputs on the G2 expecting? The manual makes no mention of it.

Thanks

FK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20615
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome FK

re. the inputs ... it's 0 .. 5 V I think ... Rob Hordijk experimented with this I think, maybe others too - you might be able to find some better info on this forum - sorry to not have time right now to hunt for links.

Others have been working on making a G2 and and a 'real' modular close together, hope some will chime in here. There definitely are posts about this here Rolling Eyes

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
varice



Joined: Dec 29, 2004
Posts: 725
Location: Northeastern shore of Toledo Bend
Audio files: 22
G2 patch files: 49

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

funtykigs wrote:
So I've started to control my small Eurorack system with my G2 by way of Volta.

It's going well so far, what I'm now interested in is sending signals back to the G2.. I've explored encoding a CV as audio by using it to control a VCA acting on white noise or a tone.. seem to get some usable results by then doing an envelope follow in the G2 to 'decode' it.


Ah – good to read that this idea seems to work well for you. I, along with great input from Wout Blommers, had suggested the idea of using volume control pedals and/or pots on DIY control boxes to manually modulate audio signal levels into the G1 and G2 audio inputs along with Envelope Follower modules as an alternative way (instead of MIDI CCs) to get true analog control signal inputs. Our ideas were suggested here:

http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-32416.html

And here:

http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-32424.html

But I don’t recall anyone else posting results of how well this method works. Your excellent idea to use modulated audio levels from “real” modular VCAs for CV input from analog modular synths adds an extension to the application of Wout’s and my ideas…

The result of my own testing is that a square wave of at least few hundred hertz (e. g. one that can be generated by an LFO) is the best audio signal to be used as a source as opposed to any other source (like white noise)… and setting the Envelope Follower module Attack and Release to the fastest (minimum) settings gives the quickest response…

funtykigs wrote:
I figured there must be someone out there doing similar stuff?


Well, there is at least this topic about modifying G2s (and G1s) to produce a DC CV output for external module control…

http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-12266.html

_________________
varice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use