electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Klee sequencer
Variable range only half working
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
slowalan



Joined: May 28, 2010
Posts: 23
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:04 am    Post subject: Variable range only half working
Subject description: Slightly premature announcement of success
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

All ok with new Klee except only the lower voltages , the first four, of the variable range trimpots are working/registering

Any ideas please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

On the ANALOG board, check U7-9. This pin should go to 15V when the selector switch is in the last 4 positions. It should be approximately 0V when the selector is in the first 4 positions.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
arnoid



Joined: Aug 23, 2009
Posts: 55
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

State Machine wrote:
On the ANALOG board, check U7-9. This pin should go to 15V when the selector switch is in the last 4 positions. It should be approximately 0V when the selector is in the first 4 positions.

Bill


I have a similair problem I can only trim the last 4 position (1v,2v,4v + variable pot also working).
In the first 4 position's pin 9 of U7 stays on 15V. And pin 1 of U8 stays at 0v the trimmers don't react,
What could be the probem ?

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/arnoid
http://www.facebook.com/arnoid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
I have a similair problem I can only trim the last 4 position (1v,2v,4v + variable pot also working).
In the first 4 position's pin 9 of U7 stays on 15V. And pin 1 of U8 stays at 0v the trimmers don't react,
What could be the probem ?



Lets eliminate the switch. Pull J9 from the analog board. Now adjust adjust R26. You should be able to get voltage change and adjustment to 0.333V. If not, check U7-9,10,11. All those pins should be low (0v), if not, then trace of source of where your rogue voltage is coming from.

If your first test passes, then it's likely your rotary switch is either wired incorrectly OR the switch is defective. It sounds as if your position 1 is really 8, your 2 is really 7, and so on. See if you have your pins on your switch wired in reverse.

Try these things and lets see where we end up.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
arnoid



Joined: Aug 23, 2009
Posts: 55
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

State Machine wrote:
Quote:
I have a similair problem I can only trim the last 4 position (1v,2v,4v + variable pot also working).
In the first 4 position's pin 9 of U7 stays on 15V. And pin 1 of U8 stays at 0v the trimmers don't react,
What could be the probem ?



If your first test passes, then it's likely your rotary switch is either wired incorrectly OR the switch is defective. It sounds as if your position 1 is really 8, your 2 is really 7, and so on. See if you have your pins on your switch wired in reverse.

Bill



I just checked the switch is wired correctly from range position 5 till 8 the range is working as should. (1V-2V-4V and variable range)
From position 1 to 4 I get no sequence.These are the trimmers that I can adjust they stay on 0V even when I turn them.

I will check the other things you mention

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/arnoid
http://www.facebook.com/arnoid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnoid



Joined: Aug 23, 2009
Posts: 55
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Fixed Smile

10V wasn't getting to the first 4 trimmers..
I used a regular 7810 and soldered it on the trace side of the pcb because it's to big to fit on the component side..

A jumper between the 10V and the first resistor did the trick Smile

now fully calibrated and sequencing Smile

thx for your help

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/arnoid
http://www.facebook.com/arnoid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Fixed

10V wasn't getting to the first 4 trimmers..
I used a regular 7810 and soldered it on the trace side of the pcb because it's to big to fit on the component side..

A jumper between the 10V and the first resistor did the trick

now fully calibrated and sequencing

thx for your help


OK, great news Very Happy Your very welcome.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Klee sequencer
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
emSynth

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use