electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Microcontrollers and Programmable Logic
Microcontroller for Synths
Page 1 of 1 [21 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Kabzoer

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:31 pm    Post subject: Microcontroller for Synths Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello everyone!

This is my first post here, I'm quite new to this stuff.
I'm really enjoying making little synth with my arduino UNO, but the
CPU speed and amount of memory is a bit limiting.
Is there an alternative that is maybe more synth-oriented
and not that hard to get started with? Because I really like the open-source
approach and the amount of examples that come with Arduino.

Thanks in advance!

Dougster

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You might consider the ARM Cortex M3, in particular the NXP LPC1769. There's a nice development board available from Embedded Artists:

http://www.embeddedartists.com/products/lpcxpresso/lpc1769_xpr.php

It's a little more involved than the Arduino, but it can do a lot of things.

FWIW, this board is what the latest MIDIbox projects are based on...

Regards,
Doug

Every DIY person should own a copy of Electronotes: http://electronotes.netfirms.com

Blue LEDs are evil.
blue hell
Site Admin

Audio files: 278
G2 patch files: 320