electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Baby_8 Troubleshooting Help
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Snaper



Joined: Feb 28, 2014
Posts: 170
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:17 pm    Post subject: Baby_8 Troubleshooting Help Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Guys,

I've finished my Baby_8.
It seems I have some kind of "triggering" problem.
The unit works, kinda', but still have some issues.

I think the problem is around the reset part of the circuit.
In my version, I connected the Common leg of the rotary (step amount) switch to the reset input.

In Foniks version, there is a 47k resistor to ground from the reset input to ground.

Could this cause my problems?

I'll try to explain the problem.

If I set the seq to 5 steps, I can see the leds moving, but after the 5th step, there is a small "light-up" on the 6th step as well...

The problem is the sequencer is not "reliable" in higher tempo.
(Higher tempo means 1/16 resolution in 120BPM Sad )


baby8.png
 Description:
This is my schematic
 Filesize:  27.44 KB
 Viewed:  27 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

baby8.png



baby8_2.png
 Description:
Foniks Version
 Filesize:  25.42 KB
 Viewed:  18 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

baby8_2.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlanP



Joined: Mar 11, 2014
Posts: 165
Location: New Zealand
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Easy way to check would be to quickly tack a 47k resistor to ground from that IC pin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1758
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

What Alan said.

Also I had issues with one that would go and then stop and get hung up -- turned out I hadn't grounded pin 13. So you might want to double check that too....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHOBoS



Joined: Jan 14, 2010
Posts: 2482
Location: Moon Base
Audio files: 462

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Take out the diode to the reset pin. Unless you have it there for a reason,
than you would indeed have to add a pulldown resistor. Else the reset pin
floats most of the time making it unreliable.

_________________
"My perf, it's full of holes!"
http://phobos.000space.com/ http://www.acidtrash.com/ Stickney Synthyards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Snaper



Joined: Feb 28, 2014
Posts: 170
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have that diode there because most schematics have that diode.
Placed the pulldown resistor.
Tryed to clock with a square lfo and now its almost ok.
The real problem is that can't be triggered with a simple 30ms "falling", spike like pulse...
Is the diode the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHOBoS



Joined: Jan 14, 2010
Posts: 2482
Location: Moon Base
Audio files: 462

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
If I set the seq to 5 steps, I can see the leds moving, but after the 5th step, there is a small "light-up" on the 6th step as well...

Is this after the AND gates or straight from the 4017 ? If it is after the AND gates take a look at the Swing Generator. I bumped into a similar problem with that one.

_________________
"My perf, it's full of holes!"
http://phobos.000space.com/ http://www.acidtrash.com/ Stickney Synthyards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Snaper



Joined: Feb 28, 2014
Posts: 170
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

PHOBoS wrote:
Quote:
If I set the seq to 5 steps, I can see the leds moving, but after the 5th step, there is a small "light-up" on the 6th step as well...

Is this after the AND gates or straight from the 4017 ? If it is after the AND gates take a look at the Swing Generator. I bumped into a similar problem with that one.

Yapp, after the nand, will take a look after your thread! Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snaper



Joined: Feb 28, 2014
Posts: 170
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, so I solved the triggering problem.
My trigger signal was a M4L generated falling curve, around 30ms long.
That was not OK for the 4017, so changed it to a simple square, no it is OK.

The double pulse problem is still exist.

Read you post in your swing generator, but my problem is that I don't have any AND gates left.
For the 8 pulse outs, I should use another two 4081s.

Is there an easier way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snaper



Joined: Feb 28, 2014
Posts: 170
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Phobos, any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snaper



Joined: Feb 28, 2014
Posts: 170
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Update : tried to clock it from my euro, with an lfo with manual pulse width. Width the widest setting it worked like a charm...
Maybe I should make a gate to trigger converter and use that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use