electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Andromeda and Ableton Live
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
untinyunity



Joined: Dec 19, 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:06 pm    Post subject: Andromeda and Ableton Live
Subject description: Sequensing the A6 with Ableton Live
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi

I'm new to this forum, and a new A6 owner. Im trying to integrate my A6 with Ableton Live. Everything works fine, but I cant seem to be able to playback panel moves such as filter cutoff knobs properly.

Filter 2 for instance records in Live as Midi CTR 6, 38, 98 and 99. But it doesnt playback properly.

On the A6 itself, keyboard thx mode is midi, panel recieve mode is on and transmit mode is locmidi. I have tried various settings here, and several midi interfaces.

The problem is the same in program and mix modes. In addition, in mix mode, filters on other channels than the active one jumps around a bit when trying to record panel moves.

Any tips?

Cheers, T
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untinyunity



Joined: Dec 19, 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

having this nice conversation with myself Rolling Eyes

Anywho tried it again today, i remembered I have an old copy of Logic installed. The panel record and playback worked just fine there, so I'll take my question to Ableton then Surprised

Thor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20533
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Let me say hi & welcome then at least ... but re. the Andromeda, sorry cant help you there.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
untinyunity



Joined: Dec 19, 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks!

Shocked Cant wait to understand some more about this synth Smile I'll post whatever answer Ableton comes up with here to the benefit of the community. I'll work around it by assigning stuff to ribbon etc as these controls seems to be working fine Idea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 687
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i use cubase.
might try local off and then from computer-out back into the computer.
i mean when it sends, it maybe doesn't play back properly.
other thing to try is when a controller is send to the a6, and in the a6 a controller is dedicated to one of the 8 selectable cc's in the modsources ( A->H ).
if that works then it might be a problem of msb/lsb ( double cc's coupled to get a higher resolution as used in the a6 )
interesting !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
origin



Joined: Dec 23, 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I just bought another andromeda after having to give back the one living with me for 5 years. (New in box, plastic still on the screen, wooo!)

So, I'm an Ableton guru, and I seem to remember cracking the code on the
"Recording Andy automation into Ableton" issue a few years ago.

I do know the following for sure:

1. Logic Pro seems to handle the automation better than Ableton live
2. You can get ableton to record and send automation data to and from the Andy, but I remember it being impossible to edit once you had.
3. There are some settings in the Andy that need to be configured for all of this to work properly (I will report back once I have accomplished this with a full rundown)
4. I seem to remember that you needed to utilize mapping functions (Like filter 2 cutoff, in your example) to a Midi CC for automation to function properly, meaning that you get 128 steps instead of full resolution.

Again, will report back with my findings as I will be going down this road very soon.

Thanks,

-Origin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untinyunity



Joined: Dec 19, 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:32 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Origin Very Happy

thanks for your reply, I'll be looking forward to see your findings Idea

True, you can use MIDI mapping in the matrix of A6, but this doesn't really help in recording panel moves.

There is a "hidden" preference file in Ableton as well, where one might turn on MIDI thinning, or you may send thinned data from the A6, neither of this seems to help though.

But again, I'll be looking forward to your reply. Maybe MIDI implementation is going to be better in Ableton 9?

Cheers, Thor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
origin



Joined: Dec 23, 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey there.

I am in the Live 9 Beta, so i'll try it in 9 as well and report back.

_origin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use