electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The Repair Shop
Casio cz line out question
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
9 volts



Joined: Jul 15, 2012
Posts: 25
Location: Au

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:10 am    Post subject: Casio cz line out question Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi there, I need to fix the Line out on my casio cz101. It has a faulty relay switch. Does anyone know if I can just bypass this? I figure it my be difficult to find a replacement. Schematic is online. Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusicMan11712



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 726
Location: Upstate New York USA
Audio files: 148

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I know this has been discussed in one of the Casio CZ Yahoo! Groups forums. Some replacement options might even be mentioned. http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/CZsynth/
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
9 volts



Joined: Jul 15, 2012
Posts: 25
Location: Au

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Great thanks, just had a look at yahoo. Looks like a common problem. Have still not found any info on replacement (will keep searching). From what I have read a bypass is ok. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DES



Joined: Feb 28, 2003
Posts: 676
Location: Oxford, NJ
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just be careful that your sound system volume is down when you turn the CZ on if you bypass it. The relay keeps the initial 'pop' from turning the unit on from getting to the output. Later synths used FETs to do something similar. I would think a substitute for the relay could be found...just make sure the coil voltage and current requirements are correct.
_________________
Dave
www.davesneed.com
www.myspace.com/desneed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
9 volts



Joined: Jul 15, 2012
Posts: 25
Location: Au

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks, I managed to fix the old relay. Someone had bent a switch and jammed it. So the other switch could not rise and fall. Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The Repair Shop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use