electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Microcontrollers and Programmable Logic
Good Audio FPGA Development Board Candidate
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: State Machine
Page 3 of 3 [57 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1681
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

gdavis wrote:
JovianPyx wrote:

If I put a line of text and then say 10 blank lines and another line of text, vi refuses to delete the blank lines. I tried using x (while not in insert mode) and they don't go away. Then I switched to insert mode and tried delete and backspace keys and I cannot get rid of the blanks lines.


I've been using vi and vim with Linux and Solaris for decades and never been able to delete lines either of those ways. x only deletes characters under the cursor, backspace and delete only delete characters on the current line that have been typed since entering edit mode. Once edit mode is exited, delete and backspace won't erase any previous characters.

I always use dd to delete individual lines, for multiple lines set a mark (ma) at the first line to delete, move to the last line to delete a do d'a (delete from current line to line marked "a"). There are many other uses of d for deleting also.


Solid advice.

I have noted that vim appears (in some versions at least, I've mostly been using it on RHEL 6 lately) that it will actually backspace over things that were not entered in the current input session, while you're in input mode, and will backspace through newlines as well, which is different from the standard old-school vi behavior. But I don't know whether you have to do something (that perhaps Red Hat does by default) to enable that behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rolfs



Joined: Mar 20, 2014
Posts: 2
Location: germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:15 am    Post subject: Cyclone 5 Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I bought a new Cyclone 5 Platform for my project. It has the ability to also include ARM functions, eg for MIDI.

And : C5 has so much power and resources for programming Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2497
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Very similar, although they look like they're >$100US more per board.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
engineer



Joined: Mar 31, 2014
Posts: 10
Location: Frankfurt / Germay

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Are you satisfied with Vivado?

I am struggling no for more than 3 years and still operate with ISE if possible.

Regarding MUSIC FPGA: There is some Progress in a germin microcontroller Forum starting a universal PFGA baord suitable for Audio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JovianPyx



Joined: Nov 20, 2007
Posts: 1299
Location: West Red Spot, Jupiter
Audio files: 163

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm testing Vivado WebPACK (2014.2). Anything after that requires a 64 bit machine. When I initially looked at Vivado, there was no WebPACK version. So seeing it a few days ago was a pleasant surprise. More advanced stuff, like the system generator for DSP aren't included, but the core stuff is all there and the license while node locked and device limited, is free.
_________________
FPGA, dsPIC and Fatman Synth Stuff

Time flies like a banana.
Fruit flies when you're having fun.
BTW, Do these genes make my ass look fat?
corruptio optimi pessima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JovianPyx



Joined: Nov 20, 2007
Posts: 1299
Location: West Red Spot, Jupiter
Audio files: 163

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Vivado WebPACK is working, though there was some confusion over licensing. I tried to follow the instructions in a training video that shows how to add an AXI4-Lite interface to a project. I had selected to simulate with AXI BFM simulator which failed because I don't have the (need to pay for) license for that piece - however, the interface was installed into the project since the interface itself is licensed by the ISE license. The simulator complained about the license, so only that part is not usable. I had to add the ISE license for the AXI4-Lite stuff.

I will next be messing with some hello-world things that actually does stuff on the Zybo board.

_________________
FPGA, dsPIC and Fatman Synth Stuff

Time flies like a banana.
Fruit flies when you're having fun.
BTW, Do these genes make my ass look fat?
corruptio optimi pessima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JovianPyx



Joined: Nov 20, 2007
Posts: 1299
Location: West Red Spot, Jupiter
Audio files: 163

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Using Vivado 2014.2 WebPACK and a Zybo devboard, I've been able to add a small project that just copies the slide switches to the LEDs. So it found and used the correct cable driver; synthesis, place and route etc all worked. Next I'll play with AXI-4 Lite.
_________________
FPGA, dsPIC and Fatman Synth Stuff

Time flies like a banana.
Fruit flies when you're having fun.
BTW, Do these genes make my ass look fat?
corruptio optimi pessima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: State Machine
Page 3 of 3 [57 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Microcontrollers and Programmable Logic
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use