electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Hard sync issue?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
gdavis



Joined: Feb 27, 2013
Posts: 161
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:18 pm    Post subject:  Hard sync issue? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm trying to use the saw output of one VCO into the hard sync of a second VCO. I'm trying to makes it switchable through a DG413 (mosfet switch).

If I configure the switch to simply open or close to connect the output to the input, when the switch is open I apparently get a small amount of bleed-through that causes the two VCO's to sync up intermittently.

If I configure it to switch the sync input between the saw output and GND, when GND is selected it drops the output of VCO 2 by about 2V and pitches it up a bit.

I suspect that the second issue has something to do with putting R17 and R18 in parallel to ground, throwing off the switching threshold of the comparator, but I'm surprised the affect is this pronounced.

Any idea how I can implement this feature without adversely affecting the output?

_________________
My synth build blog: http://gndsynth.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1234
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

How do you power-up your DG413 ? Remember that the saw oscillates between a negative and a positive value, you must also power the DG413 with a negative and a positive voltage.
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gdavis



Joined: Feb 27, 2013
Posts: 161
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

V+ and V- get +/-15V and VL is connected to another 5V supply. GND is common between all supplies.

I was just thinking, would I even need both of the 10K resistors? I can understand why you'd want that in a modular where the patch cord will be inserted or removed. But in my hard-wired system, could I just have one 10K resistor from the switch to the comparator and have it be switched between either the saw output or GND?

_________________
My synth build blog: http://gndsynth.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use