electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Switching Variations On G2 Engine Via External MIDI
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TEMAS



Joined: Mar 20, 2007
Posts: 69
Location: London
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:28 am    Post subject: Switching Variations On G2 Engine Via External MIDI
Subject description: How to set up an external device to switch variations
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm having trouble setting my MPD32 to switch variations of the G2 Engine.

I've worked out a way to do it by assigning the MPD32 buttons to Momentary Constant Switches which in turn are sample & held and sent to MIDI CC70.

But the problem is that when I press a button on the MPD32, the patch switches variations before I've taken my finger off the button, so the previous variation never receives the release signal of the button.

So when I return to the first variation, the Momentary Switch is still on.

Any ideas on this?


Screen shot 2010-12-03 at 11.12.16.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  162.66 KB
 Viewed:  4746 Time(s)

Screen shot 2010-12-03 at 11.12.16.png



Screen shot 2010-12-03 at 11.12.40.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  163.11 KB
 Viewed:  4746 Time(s)

Screen shot 2010-12-03 at 11.12.40.png



_________________
Trevor Masterson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TEMAS



Joined: Mar 20, 2007
Posts: 69
Location: London
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, I've made a solution. Not that elegant and fairly expensive too. But it works. I'm sure there must be a cheaper solution.


Screen shot 2010-12-03 at 18.52.45.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  245.37 KB
 Viewed:  195 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Screen shot 2010-12-03 at 18.52.45.png



Switch Variations.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Switch Variations.pch2
 Filesize:  1.46 KB
 Downloaded:  1318 Time(s)


_________________
Trevor Masterson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23602
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 266
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Don't know if it is an option in your case, but doing the CC70 change from another patch/slot would avoid the original problem.
_________________
Jan
also .. could someone please turn down the thermostat a bit.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2503
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Why not just program the MPD32 to send CC70 straight to SlotA (on SlotA's channel)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TEMAS



Joined: Mar 20, 2007
Posts: 69
Location: London
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
Don't know if it is an option in your case, but doing the CC70 change from another patch/slot would avoid the original problem.


Ah yes, of course. That would definitely be cheaper.

MPD32 Buttons 1-8 assigned directly to the mixer buttons 1-8.


Screen shot 2010-12-04 at 01.52.32.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  126.8 KB
 Viewed:  4643 Time(s)

Screen shot 2010-12-04 at 01.52.32.png



_________________
Trevor Masterson

Last edited by TEMAS on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:59 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TEMAS



Joined: Mar 20, 2007
Posts: 69
Location: London
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

jksuperstar wrote:
Why not just program the MPD32 to send CC70 straight to SlotA (on SlotA's channel)?


I'm using momentary buttons on the MPD32, not the pads, and I'd like to have button 1 for variation 1, button 2 variation 2, etc for 8 buttons.

AFAIK the buttons only send 127 for on or 0 for off, so I can't send all 8 buttons to CC70. At least I don't think I can.

_________________
Trevor Masterson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2503
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sorry, I forgot how limiting Akai MIDI interfaces can be sometimes. You're on the right track, then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use