electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » G2 FAQ
Where's the keyboardsplit within a patch?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Sander_k



Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 57
Location: The Netherlands
G2 patch files: 16

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:48 pm    Post subject: Where's the keyboardsplit within a patch? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

how can i create a keyboard split within a patch, just as with the modular G1? I can't find it... Sad

Isn't that odd? I can think of numerous applications to use that 'good-old' keyboardsplit.
1) i can decide to the note i want where the split will be, the fixed split-points are sometimes unpractical for the key i'm playing in.
2) i can do splits in 4 patches instead of 2
3) It's more efficient
4) ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 266
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Maybe you can use the MIDI note zone module, see the online help for an example of how to use it.

Jan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sander_k



Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 57
Location: The Netherlands
G2 patch files: 16

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Embarassed ok, why didn't i think of that!

I must admit that i haven't payed much attention to the midi-possibilties yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian-s



Joined: Apr 01, 2004
Posts: 2665
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Audio files: 42
G2 patch files: 626

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You could also use the keyboard range settings in the Performance Settings dialog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davep



Joined: Jul 05, 2004
Posts: 467
Location: Oakland, CA
Audio files: 10
G2 patch files: 73

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes. I've been stumped a couple of times already by the lack of a keyboard split module on the G2. I made some NM1 patches that make good use of this module and I've wanted to make more elaborate G2 versions, but it doesn't seem possible.

These include some bass patches that use the keyboard split to create zones in which a sub-octave osc switches to a sub-sub octave osc as you play up the keyboard, to create a wider playable range that has a consistent lowlow note under the main tone.

Also, how the heck are you supposed to make a drum set patch?? Sure, some drum sounds in the patch only require a single key/note, but what about the toms & other pitched percussion elements that should have a RANGE of keys and notes? Confused

_________________
Dave Peck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sander_k



Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 57
Location: The Netherlands
G2 patch files: 16

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well i tried all options/alternatives posted here but none of them really approaches to old keyboard-split module of the NM1

the midinotezone-module works on the whole slot.. i want to be able to make more then 1 split in a patch (from C1-C3 > C#3 - C5 > C#5 a.s.o.)

Maybe something for the wishlist?

I think it's a waste of slots to use 2 slots just for splitting to patches that might as well be in one patch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 266
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You are right, it's not the same. In http://electro-music.com/forum/post-31744.html I tried to make an emulation of the NM Classic keyboard split module - hope it helps.

Jan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » G2 FAQ
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use