electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » ChucK programming language
hard to begin...
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
djeho

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:39 am    Post subject: hard to begin... Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, I'm new in this forum as well as i'm totally new in programming.
I've tried to start with Chuck with a good motivation but there's some problems...

first, i can't install chuck! the problem is following;

in the instruction, it says;
On MacOS X (using Terminal): go to the bin/ directory and type

i do not understand. how can i "go" to the bin/ directory? what does it mean "go"?

anyway i type in terminal "sudo cp chuck /usr/bin/"

and it says,

cp: chuck: No such file or directory
Ordinateur-de-jaeho-YOUN:~ jaehoyoun$

sometimes it ask me password, so i type in my system password,

and again

cp: chuck: No such file or directory

second, i'd like to know the difference between using chuck commande line version and chuck miniaudicle version. miniaudicle works for me, but it seems that automatic sync function between patchs doesn't work on miniaudicle as described on tutorial (ChucK supports sample-synchronous concurrency, via the ChucK timing mechanism. Given any number of source files that uses the timing mechanism above, the ChucK VM can use the timing information to automatically synchronize all of them.) becuase i can't excute the following...