electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
go to the radio page Live at electro-music.com radio 1 Please visit the chat
  host / artist show at your time
today> Cancelled this week, Sorry... Chez Mosc
 Forum index » News... » Concerts and Festivals
American Composers Orch - Improvise! - Apr 28
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [1 Post]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Site Admin

Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 18016
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 165
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 3:04 pm    Post subject: American Composers Orch - Improvise! - Apr 28 Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Calendar Event: April 28, 2004

Wednesday, April 28, 2004
Carnegie Hall — Isaac Stern Auditorium
8:00 pm
Improvisation meets the orchestra...the centerpiece of a week-long festival

Steven Sloane, conductor
Anthony Davis, piano

ALVIN SINGLETON: When Given A Choice (World Premiere, Commissioned by the Serge Koussevitzky Foundation in the Library of Congress and American Composers Orchestra)
EARLE BROWN: Event: Synergy II
ANTHONY DAVIS: Wayang V (New York Premiere)
GEORGE LEWIS: Virtual Concerto (World Premiere, ACO Commission)
DUKE ELLINGTON: Les Trois Rois Noirs

Improvise! at Carnegie Hall: April 28, 2004

ACO’s concluding Carnegie Hall concert of the season takes place Wednesday evening, April 28, 2004 at 8pm. Entitled Improvise!, the performance explores music that integrates improvisation and the symphony orchestra, forming the centerpiece of a week-long festival devoted to that subject. (For information on the festival, see below.) Two new works composed specially for this concert receive their world premieres. The first is a new piece by Alvin Singleton, commissioned by ACO and the Serge Koussevitzky Foundation. The other is George Lewis’s Virtual Concerto, scored for computer-controlled piano and orchestra. Composer-pianist Anthony Davis is featured in the New York premiere of his Wayang V for piano, percussion and orchestra. Completing the program is Event: Synergy II by graphic-notation pioneer Earle Brown, and music of Duke Ellington.

All the composers included in the program embrace improvisation in their work, each with a distinct background and individual approach, but with a common belief in the artistic promise and possibilities to be found in music that provides the musical “space” for performer input and collaboration.

Alvin Singleton was born in Brooklyn and educated at New York University and Yale. As a Fulbright Scholar, he moved to Rome and worked in Europe for 14 years, returning to the U.S. to become Composer-in-Residence with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. He subsequently served as Resident Composer at Spelman College in Atlanta, and as UNISYS Composer-in-Residence with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra. He is the recipient of a 2003 Guggenheim Fellowship. His 20-minute premiere will feature collective improvisation from the orchestra within the context of strict parameters established and notated by the composer.

George Lewis’s Virtual Concerto will expand the boundaries of the orchestra through improvisation and technology. The work will feature a computer-controlled Yamaha Disklavier (a digital-acoustic player piano) as “soloist.” Both the computer and the orchestra will have a set of materials to work from—some fully notated, others suggesting parameters for improvisation—with the choices made by one impacting the music performed by the other in real time. A native of Chicago with a degree in philosophy from Yale, Mr. Lewis began studying trombone in 1960. He is known for his software compositions, real-time composing and listening machines that interact with performing musicians. Mr. Lewis is a faculty member of the Music Department at University of California at San Diego, and has served as music curator for The Kitchen in New York. He recently received a MacArthur “Genius” Grant.

Anthony Davis is a composer-pianist whose work encompasses jazz, opera, Broadway, and concert music. The composer serves as soloist in his Wayang V, a piece that “synthesizes Stravinsky, Schoenberg, Ellington, Monk, Mingus and even Indonesian gamelan into beguiling and thickly woven fabric. His music argues that African-American and European influences are hopelessly entangled in American culture,” says the Detroit Free Press. Davis first came to prominence with his opera X, The Life and Times of Malcom X, which played to sold-out houses at the New York City Opera in 1986. Davis made his Broadway debut composing the music for Tony Kushner's Pulitzer Prize-winning play Angels in America: Millennium Approaches. Amistad, about a shipboard uprising by slaves and their subsequent trial, premiered at the Lyric Opera of Chicago in November 1997. Davis studied at Yale and Wesleyan. His music has been performed by the New York Philharmonic, the San Francisco, Chicago, Pittsburgh, and Atlanta Symphonies, the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, Brooklyn Philharmonic, Beethoven Halle Orchestra of Bonn, as well as ACO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [1 Post]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » News... » Concerts and Festivals
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use