electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Lunettas - circuits inspired by Stanley Lunetta
mixing oscillators with diodes - help
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
c1rcu1t

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 10:32 am    Post subject: mixing oscillators with diodes - help
Subject description: understanding load resistor
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello !

Im a newbie learning cmos circuits, I have been reading some information online and at Nicolas Collins book Handmade Electronic Music.
Im experimenting now with mixing techniques of oscillators and trying to understand what is happening in the circuits.
At the book of nicolas, when using diodes at the mixing bus, he says you should add a resistor of around 10k to ground. Can someone help me understand it? Why its used? You should always use a resistor there? I have tried to search about it, but couldnt find information about this, I have seen some people not applying it to their circuits when using diodes for mixing with 40106 and 4093 chips, but maybe because they have a general volume potentiometer on the output?

thank you! Smile

photo_2021-01-15_17-15-39.jpg
 Description:
nicolas
 Filesize:  45.84 KB
 Viewed:  248 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

photo_2021-01-15_17-15-39.jpg

PHOBoS

Audio files: 705

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread