electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Wish List
Voice Expansion with Sampling Memory (kinda G3)
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
selvmarcus



Joined: Feb 08, 2006
Posts: 121
Location: Berlin, Germany
G2 patch files: 39

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 7:37 am    Post subject: Voice Expansion with Sampling Memory (kinda G3) Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If I would be Clavia, I would check the following to make new success
with G2 and also open new fields in it´s usage:

Bring out a voice expansion card with some DRAM and some flash memory on it
and only one or two instead of the four DSPs like on the regular.
(Depending on space/power/price considerations)

I would go for 256 or 512 mb RAM and 1 to 4 GB Flash. Quite cheap these days.

Many possibilites:

- Sampling. Good pianos, much higher polyphony for orchestral stuff...
- Recording short takes, drum loops etc. from Audio In or interal busses.
Trigger and modulate by anything.
- WAV or even mp3 playback (transfer from Computer via USB)
complete tracks for live accompaignment.

- Store and reload the internal RAM of the other slots so you can
start your loops (delay contents) right-of.
Could be engaged when you change patches/variations automatically.


Of course it means changing the basic philosophy of the G2 but...

wouldn´t it be great?

I mean, now that the community had the chance to explore the depth
of digital modular synthesis partialy because of the LACK of sampling, it could be time to re-marry Smile


Would buy it for... hm problem is now I bought a laptop that
can do all that stuff, and a computer is needed for
patching, too.

Shouldn´t cost much more than Reaktor, though Wink

Anyway, what do you think?

selVMarcus

_________________
Something with this universe is somehow perfectly sound and in order.

Last edited by selvmarcus on Mon Sep 18, 2006 12:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jamos



Joined: Jun 01, 2004
Posts: 470
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Audio files: 4
G2 patch files: 36

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'd like to see minor improvements in the G2; I am not waiting for an uber-instrument.

I most certainly have no need for a multi-gig sampling instrument. I like my modular instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ian-s



Joined: Apr 01, 2004
Posts: 2575
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Audio files: 42
G2 patch files: 608

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

After initially thinking Clavia should add a sample playback module, I am not so sure.

Would Sheridan's helicopter (and other SFX) patch be as awesome if it were just some samples mixed together?

Still, so much could be done with even a modest sample/wavetable module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selvmarcus



Joined: Feb 08, 2006
Posts: 121
Location: Berlin, Germany
G2 patch files: 39

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

g2Ian: In science like in art there is both: Foundational research and application-oriented one. If I need a helicopter effect for a live performance, I don't mind about sophisticated patching, I just want it to be good enough for my application. The G2 is meant to be a live-oriented, practical useful and reliable musical instrument. Not always quite up to this... but good enough for many applications. On the challenge of patching some synthesis of a natural sound or something, I think, this wouldn't stop with sample playback available, the challenges are different, but they exist. I mean I can honour the theoretical achievment, and still apply the simplest method. In other cases, the foundational advances may turn into some application not possible otherwise.


selvmarcus

_________________
Something with this universe is somehow perfectly sound and in order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
W.T.



Joined: Jul 11, 2004
Posts: 263
Location: The Netherlands
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 11

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

some sampling possibilities would be great X 1000 !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
windchill



Joined: Jan 07, 2005
Posts: 88
Location: london uk
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So here's what I have to do to get minimal access to digitized audio in the G2: I setup midi control modules in a G2 patch - these are then sent out via a midi cable into my midi interface - they then control a sampler running in Reaktor on my laptop. Signals from this sampler are then routed via 4 audio leads back into the G2 inputs and thus back into the patch (This way I have 4 separate mono signals available). So, I have to carry 2 new midi leads, 4 audio cables, an audio/midi interface, a usb hub and power supply (because the audio interface has used the usb port that my external mouse was using. In addition I have to run unstable software on my laptop and use the painful interface that is Reaktor.
And then there is latency - no matter what I do I always seem to be able to sense that the audio is lagging a little.

So yes - please Clavia just a simple audio table is all I ask!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chrono



Joined: May 18, 2008
Posts: 229
Location: NL
Audio files: 37
G2 patch files: 38

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sampling would be defo nowadays.. and Beatlookup, granular features....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Wish List
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use