electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The layout factory
Help with stripboard layout...
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 6 of 6 [128 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
Apollo View



Joined: Sep 24, 2017
Posts: 20
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks PHOBoS.

My the output is a little noisy. So I'd like to fix it.

However, I wired according to Eric Archer's layout. See image below...

Any idea why this kills the output when I connect these three components to the ground?


FullSizeRender.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  530.67 KB
 Viewed:  66 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

FullSizeRender.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHOBoS



Joined: Jan 14, 2010
Posts: 3948
Location: Moon Base
Audio files: 584

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hard to say but something must be wrong if it works otherwise.
Could it be that you used a 220nF capacitor for C1 instead of 220pF ?

_________________
"My perf, it's full of holes!"
http://phobos.000space.com/
SoundCloud BandCamp Stickney Synthyards Captain Collider
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Apollo View



Joined: Sep 24, 2017
Posts: 20
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks PHOBoS...

I am a complete wally. I had failed to connect C1 to C11. Fixing that problem meant when I connected the 'missing' ground to C1, R20 and R25, it worked perfectly.

Now I have a fully working clone. No noise, loud as hell, beautiful long decay. Thanks for everyone comments, this forum enabled me to get this far.

I think I will switch to stripboard over perf board for the other modules, to avoid any more missing links.

I feel I have only just scratched the surface here though. Really want to mod this kick with an OVERDRIVE pot. Anyone have any ideas?

Also, I have just tied Accent to +15v, Is there any point adding a pot to it to vary the 'accent'?

I'm also going to have to make a sequencer, having to press a button for a BOOOOOOOM is getting in the way of making music.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 6 of 6 [128 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The layout factory
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use