electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
NMG2 Open Source Editor
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 3 of 20 [487 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 205
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That choice was made a long time ago when I startet working. At school in the mid 90' we learned programming with turbo pascal.

Later on I had to do some projects with c, and I spend hours and hours hunting for memory leaks and trying understand someone else code with al the operator overloading and shorthand code.

Then delphi came along and as far as i know it was the first developement tool with visual components so it was far more easy to build nice looking applications, and build on/reuse the code from someone else.

And Delphi has kept up with all the new developements, there really isn't anything that can't be build with Delphi. So there hasn't been any reason for me to switch to another developement tool.

Also there's a big user base and a vast amount of code examples to be found on internet.

So that's the reason

But nowadays all developement tools are starting to look similar, so for someone starting out today, Delphi might be a less obvious choice that it was for me all those years ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ZeeByeZon



Joined: Mar 16, 2009
Posts: 29
Location: France
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Maybe Java would be the better alternative for a cross platform user interface now...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20617
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

For cross platfrom Delphi may not be too bad either, as there is FreePascal and Lazarus that are modelled after Delphi and those are available for Linux/Windows/OSX. It'll probably need a bit of reworking for that, but when it doesnt lean too much on Delphi specific components it should be doable.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 205
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've been able to speed up the creation of modules, thanks to Doremifasol's suggestion. There's only a bit of a performance problem now, because of the cables. My laptop is huffing and puffing when I move a module with a lot of cables attached. I think the cables look nice, but maybe there not very practical.

Anyone happen to know what font is used on the modules in the clava software?


Result_7.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  212.65 KB
 Viewed:  177 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Result_7.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Moody33



Joined: Apr 28, 2009
Posts: 100
Location: France
G2 patch files: 16

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nice !

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ZeeByeZon wrote:
Maybe Java would be the better alternative for a cross platform user interface now...


Having used both Delphi and Java I would go no where near Java in any way!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

brunov wrote:
I've been able to speed up the creation of modules, thanks to Doremifasol's suggestion. There's only a bit of a performance problem now, because of the cables. My laptop is huffing and puffing when I move a module with a lot of cables attached. I think the cables look nice, but maybe there not very practical.

Anyone happen to know what font is used on the modules in the clava software?


Bloody hell you work quick!

What do you do for a living?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dougster



Joined: Sep 20, 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BobTheDog wrote:
ZeeByeZon wrote:
Maybe Java would be the better alternative for a cross platform user interface now...
Having used both Delphi and Java I would go no where near Java in any way!

Java, the answer to a question I never asked.

Python and QT are my rapid cross-platform development tools of choice...

_________________
Once you start down the modular path, forever will it dominate your destiny!

Every DIY person should own a copy of Electronotes: http://electronotes.netfirms.com

Blue LEDs are evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 205
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey Bob, i work for a fruit and vegetables exporter: tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers, doing the logistics it. We have to work quick otherwise it all just rots away!

About the developement tool discussion. If i would have to write this in Java it would take very much longer, just because i'm not familiar with it. I think it may be more efficient that i just go on in Delphi and that a Java specialist ports it to Java, if necessary. I don't think this is going to be a lot of source code.

The graphic's part turns out to be the most difficult, because of the layers ( a layer modules the a layer controls and then the cables on top) and the large amount of controls and it all has to perform reasonably quickly of course.

And also because i wanted to put in rack rails in the background. Cool


Result_8.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  218.03 KB
 Viewed:  151 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Result_8.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dorremifasol



Joined: Sep 28, 2006
Posts: 777
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Audio files: 7
G2 patch files: 47

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

brunov wrote:
And also because i wanted to put in rack rails in the background. Cool


I tried to do that in my hacked editor, but unfortunately the background texture is smaller than the module size Sad

Racks rails are cool!

_________________
Cheers,
Albert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ZeeByeZon



Joined: Mar 16, 2009
Posts: 29
Location: France
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

What are the 3 checkboxes for ? (Perf mode / Online / Design mode)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 205
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

"Perf" is the same as in the clavia software, to switch between performance mode or not.

"Online" indicates if the usb connection is active. So i can test things offline ( displaying, changing patches) without the actual G2 connected.

"Designmode" i put in when i thought i had to design all the modules, with this you can add or move controles on the modules. But now that i can generate the modules from file this is not necessary anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matrix



Joined: Aug 28, 2005
Posts: 81
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That is pretty amazing. How difficult would it be to port it to the iPad? Don't throw rocks please. Smile Just curious.
_________________
cheers,
matrix
http://www.matrixsynth.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

matrix wrote:
That is pretty amazing. How difficult would it be to port it to the iPad? Don't throw rocks please. Smile Just curious.


http://www.embarcadero.com/rad-in-action/iphone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 205
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here is a screenshot of the last incarnation of the g2 usb demo. I've put the sequencer leds and the mini-uv's in. I really had a big problem at first with these leds because the cpu usage went through the roof. Turned out that when a led in the left bottom corner went on and also one in the other end of the screen, the whole screen was repainted at 150Bpm's! So had to rethink the graphics rendering. Now it's around 20%, i think that's ok for the moment.

I also think dradpap's idea was very good, to put the volume and variations on top of the screen so you can change these in another slot without leaving the patch you're working on. I used to work only in one slot but now I'm more inclined to use the others and mix them in. Maybe you already did that, but I'm learning all sorts of new things! I still have to put the mute buttons on there also.

There's a bit of usb trouble now and then, mostly when I switch between the clavia software and the demo, it sometimes happens that the messaging goes out of sync, so bit more testing to do there, and also about a 100000000 other little things to do....

Hopefully I can upload a new version of the source next weekend, I guess you guys can't wait to port it to ipad linux etc etc etc
Wink


Result_7.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  506.46 KB
 Viewed:  157 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Result_7.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3730
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 275
G2 patch files: 96

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I wasn't expecting this kind of progress actually. Smile Makes me want to check out Delphi... Keep it up!
_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ZeeByeZon



Joined: Mar 16, 2009
Posts: 29
Location: France
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Great job. Congratulations.

Do you think you would be able to make a VST version ? The idea would be to have the patch stored with the song... And to have nice automation possibilities without assigning numerous MIDI controllers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 205
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanx!

I found 2 sdk's for developing VST plugins with Delphi. Don't know yet if it's possible to make the usb connection, but I'll give it a try.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/delphiasiovst/
http://www.tobybear.de/d_template.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Goof



Joined: Mar 02, 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wow, moving fast. It's looking better and better!
_________________
http://soundcloud.com/mindquest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 205
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Looks like it's possible to make a vst out of it. I put together a little experimental vst based on the template from tobybear and put it in ableton. Seems to work ok. Very Happy

But how would you store a patch in a song? Sysex probably, but that's not possible in ableton yet, also don't know if sysex is in Tobybears template...


Result_8.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  242.68 KB
 Viewed:  136 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Result_8.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
memoryshell



Joined: Aug 02, 2008
Posts: 31
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Amazing stuff! and real quick too .. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZeeByeZon



Joined: Mar 16, 2009
Posts: 29
Location: France
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The VST plugins has parameters declared in its interface. Those parameters are accessible for the host application and I think that only the value of these parameter are stored with the song or project.

This is OK for parameter values (like slider position...) but I do not know how this could be done for modules. I think NI Reaktor runs as a VST plugin. I don't know how it works...

May be I can have a look on the VST SDK to propose solutions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iPassenger



Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1051
Location: Sheffield, UK
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 78

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Amazing work, really coming on and taking shape. Smile
_________________
iP (Ross)
- http://ipassenger.bandcamp.com
- http://soundcloud.com/ipassenger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
wouter



Joined: Mar 07, 2009
Posts: 25
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

brunov wrote:
....

But how would you store a patch in a song? Sysex probably, but that's not possible in ableton yet, also don't know if sysex is in Tobybears template...

Maybe you could use VST Chunks for that:
http://www.tobybear.de/d_snippets.html

_________________
Electronic Music - www.insanic4.com | Music Production Resources - www.granucon.com | Netlabel - www.sonicengram.com | Multitouch Controller - www.gesturespark.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 205
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That looks promissing, if I undestand it correctly the chunks are used to load/save presets and banks of a vst via the host from and to file as fxp/fxb files.

Do you know if they are automatically loaded into the vst if you load a project?

I've been thinking about the parameters also. Maybe the most logical thing to do is to expose the parameters to the host that are mapped in de parameter pages of the clavia software. Then you always have a fixed number of parameters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 3 of 20 [487 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use