electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
go to the radio page Live at electro-music.com radio 1 Please visit the chat
poster
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Thomas Henry designs
Crazy noob?
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
elmegil

Audio files: 16

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:38 pm    Post subject: Crazy noob? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have an EE degree, but have done IT for 25 years now, so it's rusty. I also have had a huge curiosity about analog synths for a long time (since first hearing Switched on Bach, actually), but was always stymied by what to do for a keyboard. So I haven't done anything about it.... until NOW.

A couple months back I got an Arduino (mintduino actually, builds it on a small breadboard rather than coming pre-made). Casting about for "what can I do with this toy", I thought perhaps I'd revisit my EE Senior project which was also related to all this--we intended to build a digital sequencer with some custom microcontrollers (I think they were using 6502's as the core, but they had their own uarts etc). As I was digging around in MIDI resources for Arduino, I found a link to Thomas Henry's MTS-100 MIDI->CV module.

And at that point the flood gates opened. I've been totally obsessed with how I could build my own analog synth since then. I have a MIDI keyboard, so the long-standing roadblock is gone.