electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
<on air> Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Analog Clock to Din Sync
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
OW



Joined: Nov 03, 2009
Posts: 121
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:05 pm    Post subject: Analog Clock to Din Sync Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I want to be able so connect an analog clock signal from my sequencer to a din sync, so the sequencer will be the master and the din sync device the slave.

Is this possible?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philoop



Joined: Aug 19, 2011
Posts: 13
Location: hamburg

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

http://gieskes.nl/master-clock-generator/build.php?inc=scripts.php

maybe this helps!?

_________________
Deploying dual-wavelength fNIRS, we interrogate 16 locations in the forehead when eight able-bodied adults perform deception and truth-telling scenarios separately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
roglok



Joined: Aug 28, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: uptown

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Roland's DIN Sync standard is 24 Pulses per Quarter Note (PPQ) while Korg uses 48 PPQ. Your analog sequencer probably outputs 4 PPQ - or 16th notes.

You should be able to clock your DIN Sync devices with the clock signal straight away, but your clock would need to be 1.5 times the frequency to match the Roland specs and tripled in order to sync with Korg.

Also, the DIN Sync Start/Stop Signal is not a pulse, but a Logic Gate -

High Signal = Run
Low Signal = Stop

I think your best bet would be to build a master clock, like philoop suggested.

Or (this is what I did) build this CMOS based DIN Sync converter/divider: http://fa.utfs.org/diy/a100/sync2clock/index.html

Works great, but you'd need a clock input on your analog sequencer and use DIN Sync as the Master...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roglok



Joined: Aug 28, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: uptown

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
but your clock would need to be 1.5 times the frequency to match the Roland specs and tripled in order to sync with Korg.


erhm... obviously that should read:

Roland Sync: 16th Clock x 6
Korg Sync: 16th Clock x 12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OW



Joined: Nov 03, 2009
Posts: 121
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you for the reply Roglok!

The link you posted looks good, it would be great if the signal could go the other way i.e analog clock to DIN since most of my equipment only outputs clocks.

Another solution would be analog clock in to midi clock out, but schematics for this type of circuit is proving difficult to find!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roglok



Joined: Aug 28, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: uptown

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You would need to multiply your clock signal then... I don't know how/if this is would be possible Rolling Eyes

Or: simply run your clock six times as fast... Smile

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

You would still have to feed a "Run Gate" to the Start/Stop input to make it work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OW



Joined: Nov 03, 2009
Posts: 121
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I think I have an idea on how to do this... What would I need to connect the analog clock out to on the DIN cable, and what other connections would I need to make on the DIN connector?

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roglok



Joined: Aug 28, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: uptown

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

As I said above, you need to connect a positive Gate to the Start/Stop pin on the DIN Sync connector to make your DIN Sync slaves play.

0V on Start/Stop = Stop
5V on Start/Stop = Play

You probably won't need the Continue signal...

What equipment are you using?

EDIT: on the diagram above, the Start/Stop connection is labelled "Run"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frequencycentral



Joined: May 25, 2008
Posts: 186
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Great thread, was just thinking about this as I just picked up a 606. I'll be doing a PCB for the Florian Anwanders project when I get time.
_________________
http://www.frequencycentral.co.uk/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roglok



Joined: Aug 28, 2010
Posts: 156
Location: uptown

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
I'll be doing a PCB for the Florian Anwanders project when I get time.


Nice one! I've built it on veroboard and added a clock division switch (/2, /3, /6). It plays along very nicely with my 606 and 202...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
AmbiphonicDSP

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use