Author |
Message |
frabato
Joined: Jun 20, 2011 Posts: 6 Location: arizona
|
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 6:21 pm Post subject:
Ubuntu 64 bit binary |
 |
|
Hi All,
I'm on ubuntu 11.04 64 bit and I installed chuck 1.2.0.8 from the standard repository. Now I have heard that chuck wasn't ready for 64 bit but I thought I'd give it a try anyway. I started qjackctl and
Code: | a@Astudio:~$ chuck --shell |
jack sees the audio ports no problem. But then I try
Code: | welcome to chuck shell!
chuck %> SinOsc s => dac;
SinOsc: command not found
chuck %> |
I have no experience with chuck or programming languages of any sort so maybe I'm doing something silly or maybe it really isn't working right. If it isn't working properly, would someone please recommend a distribution that they have had success with, maybe ubuntu 32 bit or??????
I'll try building it from source if anyone thinks that that would help.
Thanks
To add to the 64 bit mystery I see that puredyne includes chuck in their 64 bit version |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
frabato
Joined: Jun 20, 2011 Posts: 6 Location: arizona
|
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:11 pm Post subject:
|
 |
|
I just tried puredyne 32 and 64 and I get the same unsuccessful results. These both use ubuntu binaries 1.2.0.8. so maybe there is something wrong there. Am I missing a step? Here's what I've done.
1) start jack and change to 48000
2) chuck --shell
3) SinOsc s => dac;
result is:
SinOsc: command not found
I am a super n00b so please don't rule out something incredibly lame.
Thanks |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Antimon
Joined: Jan 18, 2005 Posts: 4145 Location: Sweden
Audio files: 371
G2 patch files: 100
|
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:40 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
Ok I'm a noob when it comes to the chuck shell, but since you say you are a noob too - have you got that routine working on another platform?
What happens if you write this in a file called test.ck:
Code: | SinOsc s => dac;
2:.second => now;
|
and the on the prompt write:
_________________ Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
frabato
Joined: Jun 20, 2011 Posts: 6 Location: arizona
|
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:48 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
Thanks for the reply, both of those bits of code returned the same thing, "command not found". Everything I've tried from the examples at:
http://chuck.cs.princeton.edu/doc/examples/ has returned "command not found". What I'm trying to figure out is weather or not the program is defective or am I missing a step(s). Once a person is in the chuck shell should it return something other than "command not found" when you enter
Code: |
SinOsc s => dac;
2:.second => now;
or
chuck test.ck
or
5::second + now => time later;
while( now < later )
{
<<<now>>>;
1::second => now;
}
<<<now>>>;
|
or whatever. Am I missing something? And no, I don't have it working on another platform. I'll try windows 7.
Thanks |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
frabato
Joined: Jun 20, 2011 Posts: 6 Location: arizona
|
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:00 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
Well I get "command not found" on windows 7 as well, so I feel fairly certain that I am doing something wrong. Am I supposed to be entering these commands in the chuck shell or should I be writing them to a file somewhere?
Can anyone recommend a tutorial for a complete beginner?
Thanks |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Antimon
Joined: Jan 18, 2005 Posts: 4145 Location: Sweden
Audio files: 371
G2 patch files: 100
|
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:48 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
You could try point 7. here http://chuck.cs.princeton.edu/doc/build/
Maybe I should point out that I don't really know what chuck shell is (though I've coded a lot of chuck). My example above assumed that you ran:
from a command line without first having started chuck. Maybe your command line can't find the chuck program?
From higher up on that link:
Quote: | On Windows: put bin\chuck.exe in c:\windows\system32\. To run under windows: use start->run: cmd (or use cygwin)
At this point, you should be able to invoke 'chuck' from either Terminal (in OSX) or 'cmd' under windowsm, from any directory |
.. meaning you write just "chuck" on the command line. _________________ Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
frabato
Joined: Jun 20, 2011 Posts: 6 Location: arizona
|
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:42 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
Hey, thanks again for the reply. When I use the terminal without being in the chuck shell I get:
Code: |
a@Astudio:~$ chuck test.ck
[test.ck]: no such file or directory
|
but chuck is in my path at /usr/bin/chuck.
I was able to play the examples by cd'ing into that directoy.
Code: |
a@Astudio:~$ cd /A/pkgsrc/chuck-1.2.1.3/examples
a@Astudio:/A/pkgsrc/chuck-1.2.1.3/examples$ chuck hanoi++.ck
|
and I was able to get sound in windows 7 by pasting the code into miniAudicle.
so that brings up the question again, do I have to save things like:
Code: |
SinOsc s => dac;
2:.second => now;
|
into a file first or are you just typing this stuff into a terminal?
Thanks, I'm getting closer
Thanks |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Antimon
Joined: Jan 18, 2005 Posts: 4145 Location: Sweden
Audio files: 371
G2 patch files: 100
|
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:00 pm Post subject:
|
 |
|
Save it to a file!
if you type:
on a linux prompt, what do you get?
/Stefan _________________ Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
frabato
Joined: Jun 20, 2011 Posts: 6 Location: arizona
|
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:39 pm Post subject:
|
 |
|
Code: |
a@Astudio:~$ echo $PATH
/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games
|
I created a file in my home directory named "a.ck" and I've pasted may examples into it and when I run
everything plays fine. I can see where miniAudicle would be a help but I haven't been able to build it on ubuntu 11.04 64 bit. Maybe I'll try puredyne 32 bit. Anyway, thanks so much for getting me going. |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Antimon
Joined: Jan 18, 2005 Posts: 4145 Location: Sweden
Audio files: 371
G2 patch files: 100
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
GrandJu
Joined: Jul 04, 2010 Posts: 32 Location: Rennes France
|
Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:33 pm Post subject:
|
 |
|
Hi,
Mini Audicle works on Windows XP too.
I don't know for linux...
Ju |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Antimon
Joined: Jan 18, 2005 Posts: 4145 Location: Sweden
Audio files: 371
G2 patch files: 100
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
|