electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
LoopHead-Changing Sequencer loop length bug[and soln v2]
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 2:21 pm    Post subject: LoopHead-Changing Sequencer loop length bug[and soln v2]
Subject description: Don't you hate it when you change the loop length and the seqeunce IMMEDIATELY jumps to step 1?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK, a topic more akin to my focus... Wink

Don't you hate it when you change the loop length and the seqeunce IMMEDIATELY jumps to step 1?

The NM1 sequencers worked correctly and change the loop at the next time the sequencer reset (on the downbeat).

I am hopeful Clavia is going to fix this, but in the interm, a cheap solution. It's cool too, cuz you can set more than one loop point and then turn the shortest one off and it will jump to the next shortest one. Neat for live situations.

This is a simple little trick for the beginners and anyone else. Let me know if you have any comments or questions.
/Dasz


TweakingDoepfer2.jpg
 Description:
All those blinky lights
[x][o][_][x][x][_][x][x][_][_][_][_][x][_][x][_]
 Filesize:  52.87 KB
 Viewed:  10453 Time(s)

TweakingDoepfer2.jpg



LoopHead_DZ.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  LoopHead_DZ.pch2
 Filesize:  2.61 KB
 Downloaded:  1236 Time(s)


_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada

Last edited by dasz on Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:15 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2503
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I suppose "worked correctly" is/was subjective, but I fully agree with you on this. It is difficult for live improvisation when the beat gets unsyncronized, unintentionally, undoubtedly!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Subjective? I would say not. It's common practise for any groove box I have worked with. And consistent with NM1.

Quote:
It is difficult for live improvisation when the beat gets unsyncronized, unintentionally, undoubtedly!!!


Totally, the G2 is supposed to be more Live oriented than Papa Nord (NM1). Especially after you read the marketing line which tells us why it is so much better than NM1

http://clavia.com/products/nordmodular/index.htm

These little glitches get in the way (esp since one cannot group the quick solution into a subpatch) Sad
/Dasz

ps.: I have a sentimental attachment to the Colorado Avalanche hockey team-- esp "Burnaby" Joe Sakic (http://www.coloradoavalanche.com, and Mr. Steve Moore for suffering such an underhanded blow thanks to Todd PooToosey (Bertuzzi) http://canucks.com/theteam/roster.asp?sectionID=23&id=20#career )

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
selvmarcus



Joined: Feb 08, 2006
Posts: 121
Location: Berlin, Germany
G2 patch files: 39

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It´s strange these things didn´t get fixed during so many years.
Is it really the missing menpower at clavia?

Another example: Why is it I cannot define or use some
keyboard shortcuts for module type insertion?

Would be so much faster than to go through the menus all the time.

Why no multiples module or any place to put one of my patchcords somewhere while exchanging two of them? Always have to go again... Sad

Sorry, OT here.

Still a great product and I am allover very happy with it.
Fun and research for years to come. Good buy.

----
Marcus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:

Still a great product and I am allover very happy with it.
Fun and research for years to come. Good buy.


Isn't that enough for now? Remeber Clavia is a Small Company! Not many people doing s/w or h/w stuff (they are not Roland!!!)
/Dasz

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I learned a lot during NAMM '06 about really small companies -- they seem to be doing all the cool stuff, funny isn't it? The big guys just copy the small guys.
/Dasz

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Unfed



Joined: May 11, 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Rochester, NY
Audio files: 4
G2 patch files: 11

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thank you for coming up with this, Dasz! i loved the fact that you could change the number of steps on the fly, but was quickly disappointed to find that it didn't work quite right. thus, wasn't able to make use of it really at all. this should be a great help.

dasz wrote:

These little glitches get in the way (esp since one cannot group the quick solution into a subpatch) Sad


could you explain why this is? (maybe it'll make sense to me when i actually play around with it...)

_________________
SoundCloud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

jksuperstar wrote:
I suppose "worked correctly" is/was subjective, but I fully agree with you on this. It is difficult for live improvisation when the beat gets unsyncronized, unintentionally, undoubtedly!!!


I don't think it's that subjective. The sequencers come with a reset input so it's much easier to have a extra reset patched in manually then it is to prevent it from resetting.

That being said; the G2 has the lookup table sequencers and those enable you to define your own "correct behaviour". With those you can for example have the "last step" parameter outside of the sequencer module and only update that parameter once in -say- every 8 bars together with a global reset of all sequencers, that would make it all ableton style. In the NM you can do the same if you'd like to but it'd work differently.

To me the bigest thing is defining for yourself what "correct" is for any given situation, once you have that you can probably build it regardless of what the modules do per default.

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

good point about the ctrl sequencer, Kassen.

I used a solution like it as well, but the circut was bulkier than the little reset step in the event sequencer.

Quote:

Quote:
These little glitches get in the way (esp since one cannot group the quick solution into a subpatch) Sad

could you explain why this is? (maybe it'll make sense to me when i actually play around with it...)


unfed, I was stating that it is too bad we cannot create subpatches (like in reaktor). This way, this little circuit could have been turned into a "module".

/Dasz

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23500
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 262
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

With this little modification the patch will work for a sequencer length of one as well, it costs about .3% extra in cycles.


dz_mod.jpg
 Description:
a patch example, see it's thread
 Filesize:  37.03 KB
 Viewed:  10336 Time(s)

dz_mod.jpg



_________________
Jan
also .. could someone please turn down the thermostat a bit.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Jan,


In my patch solution, of course you realize that if the current step is above the loop length step you just changed to, your sequence will play until step 16. One can think of this as a bug / feature. Rolling Eyes

I like the x0x school of thinking -- bug or feature?
/Dasz

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23500
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 262
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dasz wrote:
of course you realize


Guess not actually .. I've no clue as to what you are talking about ... did I overlook something, if so please be more specific ?

_________________
Jan
also .. could someone please turn down the thermostat a bit.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, if the current step was 5 and the loop reset was at step 12. then changing the loop length to 4, would not reset the sequence, since we were on step 5 and this is past the loop reset step. You'd expect the sequencer to check for loop point when it jumps to new step.

This is why the voltage/ctrl sequencer is better for the task. But for quick fix, this solution is good.

My posted ideas may not be perfect, nor are they indended to be. They are a start for others, which why I am happy Jan modded this patch!

/Dasz

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here's a different approach using a ctrl seq.
/Dasz


LoopHead2_DZ.pch2
 Description:
updated. THis version uses a ctrl sequencer. and a loop point knob.

Download
 Filename:  LoopHead2_DZ.pch2
 Filesize:  1.92 KB
 Downloaded:  1147 Time(s)


_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1172
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 141

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You are probably aware of that..but actually its the best to dont use the loop mode at all...than you cheaply enjoy the luxery of any looplength up to 128 steps...

I rarely use one bar loops..as soon you start doing your own loop circuit ist not a problem anymore


loophead_3p_134-.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  loophead_3p_134-.pch2
 Filesize:  2.64 KB
 Downloaded:  1134 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Oh yeah, use the clock div is a great solution.

It's cool I tried some patches here, cuz they solved a problem I had in a different type of patch.

/Dasz

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use