Author |
Message |
Dr. Spankenstein
Joined: Mar 03, 2007 Posts: 136 Location: Cambridge
Audio files: 1
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:03 am Post subject:
Stack Overflow Error -- Is there any way to reset a stack? |
 |
|
I seem to be running into one problem after another with my code but the latest irritation comes in the form of StackOverFlow errors.
The problem occurs when I leave my cutting algorithm going for a certain length of time. That certain length of time gets a lot shorter should I use shorter cuts, adding data faster to the stack.
Is there any way of clearing the stack within ChucK so that this error doesnt occur after a certain length of time?
Thanks for your time guys,
Rhys |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Kassen
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004 Posts: 7678 Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:26 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
You have a WHAT?????!!
:¬)
Nah, I don't think I ever saw one of those and I'm pritty sure there shouldn't be "stack overflows" and you're not expected to manually reset any stacks.
This is definately something to mail Ge about;
gewang (at) cs.princeton.edu
He's probably going to ask you for the simplest form that you can get your code in that still makes this happen so you might as well send that when reporting on this. Ge is a very nice guy too so don't hesitate about sending reports. Likely it's a bug, that's cool. Finding bugs means you did something that wasn't tried before and it means ChucK will improve so it's good news. _________________ Kassen |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
blue hell
Site Admin

Joined: Apr 03, 2004 Posts: 24391 Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 296
G2 patch files: 320
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:42 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
Don't know if this applies to Chuck or to this specific problem but to me usually running out of stack means performing recursion without a proper end condition. _________________ Jan
also .. could someone please turn down the thermostat a bit.
 |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Dr. Spankenstein
Joined: Mar 03, 2007 Posts: 136 Location: Cambridge
Audio files: 1
|
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:03 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
Aye you are right Blue but this recursion has an end condition that will happily start and stop a certain number of times before finally giving up.
I'll look carefully at my code as its probably something stupid I've done without out realising it, but in the mean time I'll also prepare a version for Ge and see what he makes of it.
Rhys |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Kassen
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004 Posts: 7678 Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3
|
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 4:39 am Post subject:
|
 |
|
In that case it's likely related to garbage colection. You see; ChucK has no garbage colection right now . This is definately something that people are working on because clearly may things depend on on it _________________ Kassen |
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
|