electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
go to the radio page Live at electro-music.com radio 1 Please visit the chat
poster
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Noob question about using the G2 performance
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Chris242



Joined: Nov 23, 2019
Posts: 2
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 2:30 pm    Post subject: Noob question about using the G2 performance Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all,

I want to try my hands on creating a whole track on the G2. I saw this great video of electro artist Anthony Rother demonstrating how he does. It seems he puts together a performance, then mutes/un-mutes the 4 different parts. I am quite new when it comes to using the G2 so I would appreciate any advice on how to do this.

1. How do I start and stop a performance with a puch of a button

2. How do I mute/un-mute the different parts while running the performance?

I might ad that I have tried the manual and it didn't go that well =)

Cheers/Chris (G2 noob)

Heres the video btw, it starts after 13:10
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnVvLwW42zs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23356
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 258
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome Chris,

I'll start with having a better look/listen at the video you linked to - seems like an interesting story ... so going to watch the whole thing ... anyways ... I hope to better understand your questions then Wink

_________________
Jan
also .. could someone please turn down the thermostat a bit.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23356
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 258
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

He gets a bit vague eh when its explanation time Laughing

ok .. on to your questions ...

1) How do I start and stop a performance with a puch of a button

From what I see my guess is .. the patches are all pretty simple so you can have all four slots active at the same time. So you would not have to actually start or stop performances.

Let me try to explain ...

For the NM a performance is a set of patches, up to four, each patch goes into a slot. You can start or stop a patch making sound easily by having a volume control, or when you would want to start or stop a sequence by assigning a button for that.

From what I see there is just one performance with four slots/patches being active - which makes it so that you can control all four, but not at the same time.

With the buttons on the G2 (assuming you are not using the engine, you can select with ABCD buttons which of the four will be influenced by the buttons and knobs on the synth - for the engine you can do the same thing from the editor, but it is a bit less intuitive.

To use a start/stop button you would need to patch something .. could be as simple as a switch between the clock generator and the sequencer. Then assign the control for that switch to a front panel button, and then use that button to turn it on/off.

For sound effects you would not need a button, but you could simply use a volume control somewhere in the patch, it might be on the very end, but is does not matter really .. and assign that to a knob on the synth, you can then use that knob to fade things in or out.

2) How do I mute/un-mute the different parts while running the performance?

Basically the same thing I think?

Anyway .. I hope Idid understand you questions right ... as the answers / hints are from that ... so .. erm .. just let me know what I misunderstood please Smile

_________________
Jan
also .. could someone please turn down the thermostat a bit.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use