electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
go to the radio page Live at electro-music.com radio 1 Please visit the chat
poster
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Patch corrupted
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 2 of 2 [30 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
crueltwist



Joined: Aug 22, 2005
Posts: 25
Location: absolute elsewhere
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Jan! long time no speak... is that your Wren?

I keep meaning to check that out but have to run it using a PC emulator on my mac... I don't really use software much (apart from recording as a multitrack/mixer... and the G2 editor of course)... I try and do as much with hardware as possible... but I keep recommending Wren to people who are interested in modular without going down the rabbit hole crack habit that is eurorack etc...
I must give it a proper try out some day

Still using my G2 as the heart of a lot of my stuff .... still sounds amazing

Take care!
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23505
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 262
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2020 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

G2 of course still is amazing Smile

Yeah wren .. although VCV rack seems the thing to go for these days.

_________________
Jan
also .. could someone please turn down the thermostat a bit.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shhh21



Joined: Jan 16, 2021
Posts: 8
Location: Hamburg
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:28 am    Post subject: Re: memory hang/corrupted patches....excellent solution!!! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

crueltwist wrote:

So I rolled back to the old 1.4 system for the G2 itself ... was tricky but found the OS here on this forum…


Hey!

Really happy so see that people indeed are still looking for advice around here!

Trying to downgrade to OS 1.4 as well as I receive quite a few MAJOR ERROR messages in the editor disconnecting it from the synth — pretty much 99% certain right now it's not a hardware/USB issue though.

Can't run the PowerPC version at the moment as there's no pre-Intel Mac around. Can virtualize either using Parallels, etc. as I don't own Snow Leopard SERVER (which uses the Rosetta-layer to run non-Intel apps). The thing is: the Windows-version of the G2 Synth Updater 1.40 doesn't seem to see the hardware ("Current status: No Nord Modular G2 connected") unfortunately. I'm wondering if I could boot with diagnostics mode (power on + press Shift+Per.Mode+DisplayMode+Store) and EraseAll (Flash+OS)… but I'm not convinced this would make the G2 Synth Updater 1.40 see the hardware once done… if not I guess I'd end up with a bricked G2?

Any advise appreciated!

Cheers.

Last edited by shhh21 on Mon Jan 18, 2021 12:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shhh21



Joined: Jan 16, 2021
Posts: 8
Location: Hamburg
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:46 am    Post subject: Re: memory hang/corrupted patches....excellent solution!!! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just tried to EraseFFS/flash-memory for starters… but couldn't get passed the "Press X to start"! Any idea what key (or combination) "X" is? : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shhh21



Joined: Jan 16, 2021
Posts: 8
Location: Hamburg
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2021 7:35 am    Post subject: Re: memory hang/corrupted patches....excellent solution!!! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Managed to downgrade to OS 1.40 with an old macMini running Snow Leopard! Still, would love to reset the G2, but can't get passed that "Press X to start"…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 2 of 2 [30 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use