electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Discussion » Streaming video
Video Switchers
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: djfoxyfox
Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
djfoxyfox
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2003
Posts: 2706
Location: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 9:48 pm    Post subject: Video Switchers Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've been looking at You tube videos and and other sources of info about Blackmagic Design's ATEM mini. For $300, it looks like the thing to beat.

What are you using to switch camera angles and other video sources?

_________________
Bill Fox------------------|\-------------
---_--_-----------|------|--------------
--|_)|_----|\-----|-----()--------------
--|_)| -----|-----()---------------------
-----------()----soundscapes.us/bill

Last edited by djfoxyfox on Sat Apr 24, 2021 8:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2796
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 270
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 5:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Video Switchers Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

djfoxyfox wrote:
I've been looking at You tube videos and and other sources of info about Blackmagig Design's ATEM mini. For $300, it looks like the thing to beat.

What are you using to switch camera angles and other video sources?


I'm using the OBS advanced scene switcher plugin
https://obsproject.com/forum/resources/advanced-scene-switcher.395/

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound | gear for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
djfoxyfox
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2003
Posts: 2706
Location: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 8:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Video Switchers Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
I'm using the OBS advanced scene switcher plugin
That's interesting. May I assume that each camera's HDMI output feeds a device that plugs into a USB port? If so, what device, how many are you using, and how much do they cost? Around here, three are the cost of the ATEM mini. Or are you using webcams that already have USB outputs?
_________________
Bill Fox------------------|\-------------
---_--_-----------|------|--------------
--|_)|_----|\-----|-----()--------------
--|_)| -----|-----()---------------------
-----------()----soundscapes.us/bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2796
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 270
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm using Logitech c920 webcams which are usb, so don't need a HDMI to usb converter for them. Having said that I have this which I bought to use with my radiator laser synth to enable me to record it for later usage, which was less than £10.
_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound | gear for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2796
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 270
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm using advanced scene switcher to randomly switch between a pool of scenes setup in OBS, which are combinations of camera and layered visual effect.

I'm also looking in to Touch Portal for remote switching using my phone, but although I've got the app I've not had chance to set it up yet

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound | gear for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
djfoxyfox
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2003
Posts: 2706
Location: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
...combinations of camera and layered visual effect...
Please tell me about the cameras. (I'll ask about the effects later!)
_________________
Bill Fox------------------|\-------------
---_--_-----------|------|--------------
--|_)|_----|\-----|-----()--------------
--|_)| -----|-----()---------------------
-----------()----soundscapes.us/bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2796
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 270
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I mentioned them already, I've got a couple of logitech c920 webcams Smile

I bought one and liked it so much I bought another

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound | gear for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
djfoxyfox
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2003
Posts: 2706
Location: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
I mentioned them already, I've got a couple of logitech c920 webcams Smile
I was distracted and missed it altogether! Thanks for the link. I never thought of webcams. All the YT vids I've been watching use cameras that cost hundreds. The video experts making these videos would probably frown on webcams. Thanks for the tip! That would also save $300 on the ATEM mini. (Too bad because it was giving me G.A.S.!!!) But if my computer can take the load of OBS doing the encoding, streaming, switching, overlays, etc., then that might be the way to go. One goal is to at least record videos of Chez Mosc if not simulcast a video. Question: Do you dedicate a computer as your streaming machine or is it also doing other things at the same time?
_________________
Bill Fox------------------|\-------------
---_--_-----------|------|--------------
--|_)|_----|\-----|-----()--------------
--|_)| -----|-----()---------------------
-----------()----soundscapes.us/bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2796
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 270
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

djfoxyfox wrote:
Question: Do you dedicate a computer as your streaming machine or is it also doing other things at the same time?


When I'm just streaming to twitch I only have OBS, but if I'm also streaming audio to electro-music, then I have edcast, hydra irc chat and usually a browser open for switching the radio

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound | gear for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
djfoxyfox
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2003
Posts: 2706
Location: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 4:17 am    Post subject: Dedidcated Computer? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
djfoxyfox wrote:
Question: Do you dedicate a computer as your streaming machine or is it also doing other things at the same time?
When I'm just streaming to twitch I only have OBS, but if I'm also streaming audio to electro-music, then I have edcast, hydra irc chat and usually a browser open for switching the radio
This is exactly the kind of thing I need to know. My iMac (home office) and my laptop (everything else) are over a decade old and need to be replaced. The laptop needs to be replaced first, I think. Do I want an all powerful machine that does streaming and VST hosting simultaneously or should I go with multiple, dedicated machines? Of course, cost is a factor.

From your videos, it looks like you're making music exclusively with hardware and iPads; no computer involved. For the computer doing the streaming, OBS looks like the heaviest load being presented to the processor. Streaming audio to electro-music doesn't look like it's adding very much extra load, comparatively speaking. Do you have a video card (NVIDIA or other) helping OBS remove some of the load from the processor?

_________________
Bill Fox------------------|\-------------
---_--_-----------|------|--------------
--|_)|_----|\-----|-----()--------------
--|_)| -----|-----()---------------------
-----------()----soundscapes.us/bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2796
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 270
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

For streaming I'm using Windows 10 Pro on a Dell Latitude E5430 laptop
It's got an Intel Core i5-3210 2.5GHz processor with 4 GB RAM and Intel HD Graphics 4000

I bought it used refurbished Smile

I've never got the hang of VSTs so all hardware (except iPads, but they feel like hardware to me as I only use one app at a time and play it using the touch screen)

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound | gear for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
djfoxyfox
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2003
Posts: 2706
Location: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:21 am    Post subject: "New" Laptop Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
For streaming I'm using Windows 10 Pro on a Dell Latitude E5430 laptop
It's got an Intel Core i5-3210 2.5GHz processor with 4 GB RAM and Intel HD Graphics 4000

I bought it used refurbished Smile
I just bought a refurbished ("renewed") Dell E5450 laptop:
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5600U CPU @ 2.60GHz 2.59 GHz
Installed RAM 16.0 GB (15.9 GB usable)

It came with Windows 10. Before creating a recovery drive, I updated it from version 2004 to 20H2.

It looks like enough power for streaming video or for using Reaper to Ninjam with Howard for our Chez Mosc broadcasts. I'll have to try both at once just to see what's possible. I'd hate to have to buy a second laptop. Wink

Thanks for all the help. BTW all of my audio interfaces at home are Firewire-based. I've ordered a USB interface but it won't arrive until late April...

_________________
Bill Fox------------------|\-------------
---_--_-----------|------|--------------
--|_)|_----|\-----|-----()--------------
--|_)| -----|-----()---------------------
-----------()----soundscapes.us/bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
djfoxyfox
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2003
Posts: 2706
Location: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2021 8:25 am    Post subject: Computer Load Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
djfoxyfox wrote:
Question: Do you dedicate a computer as your streaming machine or is it also doing other things at the same time?
When I'm just streaming to twitch I only have OBS, but if I'm also streaming audio to electro-music, then I have edcast, hydra irc chat and usually a browser open for switching the radio
Where do you run your visualization program(s)? Are these also on the same laptop?

I assume that your Laser Synth's output is being fed into this computer for use by OBS.

I'm trying to figure out what I need to run simultaneously on a computer used for doing a video stream. The goal is to start video streaming Chez Mosc as a "simulcast" to the usual audio stream on electro-music once Howard and I resume playing in the same room. (I have one jab done; one to go.)

_________________
Bill Fox------------------|\-------------
---_--_-----------|------|--------------
--|_)|_----|\-----|-----()--------------
--|_)| -----|-----()---------------------
-----------()----soundscapes.us/bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2796
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 270
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2021 10:05 am    Post subject: Re: Computer Load Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

djfoxyfox wrote:
modulator_esp wrote:
djfoxyfox wrote:
Question: Do you dedicate a computer as your streaming machine or is it also doing other things at the same time?
When I'm just streaming to twitch I only have OBS, but if I'm also streaming audio to electro-music, then I have edcast, hydra irc chat and usually a browser open for switching the radio
Where do you run your visualization program(s)? Are these also on the same laptop?

I assume that your Laser Synth's output is being fed into this computer for use by OBS.

I'm trying to figure out what I need to run simultaneously on a computer used for doing a video stream. The goal is to start video streaming Chez Mosc as a "simulcast" to the usual audio stream on electro-music once Howard and I resume playing in the same room. (I have one jab done; one to go.)


I've not connected the laser synth up to OBS yet, I've just mixed some recordings of it and use those playing back in OBS using a Media Source

I could add the radiator using a Video Capture Source, but then I'd have to remember to tweak it as well, at some point I'll figure out the best way to sequence it by midi

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound | gear for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
djfoxyfox
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2003
Posts: 2706
Location: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2021 12:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Computer Load Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
...at some point I'll figure out the best way to sequence it by midi
Ooooo. Do I smell a synchronized display in the future? Kewl.
_________________
Bill Fox------------------|\-------------
---_--_-----------|------|--------------
--|_)|_----|\-----|-----()--------------
--|_)| -----|-----()---------------------
-----------()----soundscapes.us/bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2796
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 270
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2021 4:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Computer Load Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

djfoxyfox wrote:
modulator_esp wrote:
...at some point I'll figure out the best way to sequence it by midi
Ooooo. Do I smell a synchronized display in the future? Kewl.


possibly, if it works how I hope

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound | gear for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: djfoxyfox
Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Discussion » Streaming video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use