electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
go to the radio page Live at electro-music.com radio 1 Please visit the chat
poster
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
G2 locks up on repeated program changes?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jamos



Joined: Jun 01, 2004
Posts: 503
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Audio files: 4
G2 patch files: 39

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2020 5:46 am    Post subject: G2 locks up on repeated program changes? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am using an MPC Live that I have had for about a year with my G2s, and yesterday I tried an MPC feature for the first time. It worked for a while but then my G2X (1.62) started locking up

I am using the MIDI program feature to send a MIDI bank and program change message for my Nord G2. In experimenting I discovered that this is sent as soon as the MPC project loads, which made me happy as this is something I have REALLY wanted to do. So I added the appropriate settings to about 6 songs, did a test (it worked) and even made a video of it working to send to my bandmates. Then I added it to the rest of our songs, went to sequentially test them... and my G2 locked up. It continues to lock up each time I load a project.

In looking at the output of the MPC with Midi-OX when a project is loaded, this is what I see:

CODE: SELECT ALL
===> MIDI-OX Version: 7.0.2.372
===> Log Opened: Sat 28-Nov-2020 18:34:35 ===>
TIMESTAMP IN PORT STATUS DATA1 DATA2 CHAN NOTE EVENT
896224 1 -- 186 0 0 11 --- CC: Bank MSB
896224 1 -- 186 32 2 11 --- CC: Bank LSB
896224 1 -- 202 4 --- 11 --- Program Change
896224 1 -- 202 4 --- 11 --- Program Change
896224 1 -- 202 4 --- 11 --- Program Change
896224 1 -- 202 4 --- 11 --- Program Change
896396 1 -- 186 123 0 11 --- CC: All Notes Off
896396 1 -- 186 64 0 11 --- CC: Pedal (Sustain)
<=== MIDI-OX Log Closed: Sat 28-Nov-2020 18:35:27 <===


In other words the program change is sent 4 times in rapid succession. Presumably the G2 chokes on that.

But... why did it work and then not?

I have rebooted the G2 and MPC several times.

A related issue is that the MSB Off setting is not saved properly; if I set the MSB to Off, it reverts to 0 when the project is loaded. I do not know if this is causing the issue as the G2 does not use the MSB.

Any thoughts? I am also researching the Akai end of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 23505
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 262
G2 patch files: 320

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2020 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It might also be a corrupted patch maybe?

In the old days I did a lot of programmed program changes from one G2 engine to another, and that was flawless, however:

I never used the BankSelect MSB and I would always send a combination of a ProgramChange and a BankSelect, but it could be quite rappidly.

I seem to recall the G2 was picky on it in that it wanted both PC and BS, and in a specific order.

But it has been a while, good luck :-)

_________________
Jan
also .. could someone please turn down the thermostat a bit.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jamos



Joined: Jun 01, 2004
Posts: 503
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Audio files: 4
G2 patch files: 39

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
It might also be a corrupted patch maybe?


Good idea, but no.

I have also realized that it is only some performances that do this, I am going to start drilling down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use