electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
yet another sequencer question
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ben.



Joined: Feb 23, 2008
Posts: 30
Location: St. Catharines

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:15 pm    Post subject: yet another sequencer question
Subject description: Sequence Chords
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

bonjour, another one about sequencers

i want to sequence chords. i have (in this case, three (3)) note sequencers set up to their own oscillators, filters, envelopes and out's. Each note sequencer plays a note of the (agin in this case, three (3)) notes i want in my chord.

Would anyone have any idea as to how i could do this in a more effective fashion? or is this how chords are created in a sequence? also please let me know if a photo would assist!

Thanks

Ben

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/benjohnrobertson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

put the 3 sequencers in the fx area. put one of the 3 synths into the voice area and set the number of voices to 3.

then from the 3 sequencers send the 3 midi notes to the synth in the voice (via note out modules).

/Dasz

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ben.



Joined: Feb 23, 2008
Posts: 30
Location: St. Catharines

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:21 pm    Post subject: nord modular g2
Subject description: yet another sequencer question
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thanks for the reply Dasz, Ill check this out!

Ben

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/benjohnrobertson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ben.



Joined: Feb 23, 2008
Posts: 30
Location: St. Catharines

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:02 pm    Post subject:
Subject description: yet another sequencer question
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

would you mind building an example and posting the patch? it would be a great help!

thanks

Ben

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/benjohnrobertson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ok here it is. Note, this will NOT work on the G2 demo as

1. it is monophonic, and this patch is poly (3 voice)
2. midi note send does not work in the demo

Served with a filter which responds to note numbers.
/Dasz


3VoiceSeq_DZ.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  158.25 KB
 Viewed:  259 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

3VoiceSeq_DZ.jpg



3VoiceSeq_DZ.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  3VoiceSeq_DZ.pch2
 Filesize:  2.92 KB
 Downloaded:  1248 Time(s)


_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ben.



Joined: Feb 23, 2008
Posts: 30
Location: St. Catharines

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:03 pm    Post subject:
Subject description: yet another sequencer question
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thats awesome! thanks for your help...

One question though, whats the difference between having the sequencers in the FX area as oppsed to in the Voice area?

Ben

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/benjohnrobertson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fozzie



Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 875
Location: Near Wageningen, the Netherlands
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 49

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It saves dsp power. Everything that's in the FX section is monophonic - it is calculated only once regardless of the amount of voices that are selected for the patch. Everything in the voice area is calculated as many times as the amount of voices that are selected. So a 25% patch in the voice area with a polyphony of 4 takes 100% of dsp power; but a 25% patch in the fx area always takes 25%, regardless of voice #.
_________________
Spinning at ~0.0000115740740741 Hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasz



Joined: Oct 16, 2004
Posts: 1643
Location: vancouver, canada
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 56

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

actually let me put it a different way from Fozzie

FX area is like it's own mono synth. I put 3 sequencers in there as the 3 combined can create chrods (or different non overlapping notes -- in the picture there is achord on step 1 as each sequencer has a note trigger on step 1).

These chords are sent to the Voice area (which has been set to 3 voices) which is a 3 voice synthesizer (since the whole are is 3 voices, there is no need to make 3 copies of the same synthesizer -- this happens behind the scenes). I put some stuff to make the pitch change the filter cutoff to make the notes stand out more when they are triggered.

This synthesizer is triggered by the note sends (which send notes to Slot A, which is why the whole patch must be loaded into slot A otherwise it will NOT receive the notes) attached to the sequencers in the fx area.

Another method would be to create a 2 patch performance where the contents of the voice area are loaded into slot A, and the contents of the fx area are loaded into Slot B.

Let me know if this clears it up.
/Dasz

_________________
http://www.dasz.com
Electronic Music Instruments From Vancouver, Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use