electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Syncing the patch to sequencer
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Static Motion



Joined: Nov 03, 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Amsterdam
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:44 am    Post subject: Syncing the patch to sequencer
Subject description: can't get the patch to start from beginnig when playing notes
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all,
I'm having a problem with this patch...
I set it so that when i press a note, the sequence starts from start, but when i record the notes in my sequencer (ableton), and play the clip (loop of notes),
the sequence in the g2 starts from different position.
It results in total random trigger...
I just want it to start from the start everytime i play a note...Please help me !


ACIDIZER 2.pch2
 Description:
Help me sync this patch when playing notes

Download
 Filename:  ACIDIZER 2.pch2
 Filesize:  4.77 KB
 Downloaded:  961 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iPassenger



Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1051
Location: Sheffield, UK
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 78

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Had a quick look without the G2 connected but is it cos the ClkGen is set to internal instead of external sync?
_________________
iP (Ross)
- http://ipassenger.bandcamp.com
- http://soundcloud.com/ipassenger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Static Motion



Joined: Nov 03, 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Amsterdam
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanx for your reply...
But it i know about the internal/master.
It occurs in master when playing notes in sequencer.
When for instance i play for 1 bar note C3 and 1 bar note G3 and loop that part, it changes the startingpoint overtime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 4146
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 371
G2 patch files: 100

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you program the clip so that each note lasts until the next, then I see what you mean. The gate will stay on constantly, since there is always a note pressed. I tried decreasing the gate times in Ableton, and then it seemed to trigger better. You can turn the Fixed grid in Ableton off, select all notes and then drag the right end a bit to the left.

To solve this properly, you probably need to do some trick with a two-voice slot that receives the note ons, and the sends a pulse over a bus telling the slot that does the actual playing to reset the sequence.

Yet another use for a change detection module, had it existed. Confused

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Static Motion



Joined: Nov 03, 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Amsterdam
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Antimon wrote:

To solve this properly, you probably need to do some trick with a two-voice slot that receives the note ons, and the sends a pulse over a bus telling the slot that does the actual playing to reset the sequence.

/Stefan

Thank u Stefan, but how would i go and do this ?
I'm quite new to this, and wouldn't have a clue how to approach this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ark



Joined: Mar 06, 2008
Posts: 679
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is it possible that you have set Ableton to send the patch number to the G2 before playback starts? If it does that, the G2 will reload the patch, which will cause a period of silence before the G2 starts playing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Static Motion



Joined: Nov 03, 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Amsterdam
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No, that's not the case, but i seem to have fixed it Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iPassenger



Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1051
Location: Sheffield, UK
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 78

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

How'd ya do it?
_________________
iP (Ross)
- http://ipassenger.bandcamp.com
- http://soundcloud.com/ipassenger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use